Honey Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I've only rated one other dish 5*.Came out absolutely perfect. Only observation was that I checked them at the 4hr mark and they were ready. Had I waited 5 hrs, they would have been mush in the bottom of the pot. What flavor!!! Made them again, this time I put them under the broiler for a few minute after I took them out of the crock (after 4hrs). They were tender - but dry. Guess I won't do that again (the broiler part).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I substitute ribs for thick, boneless pork chops and they always taste amazing. After cooking, I strain the liquid into a sauce pan. Then. I mix 2tbsp corn starch to 2 tbsp cold water, add it to the liquid, and bring to a boil until thick (about five minutes). It makes for a WONDERFUL sauce to pour over the pork chops - guests love it every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I used pork country style ribs & seared them first to remove some of the fat. After they were done & falling off the bone, I plated the ribs on a platter & poured the liquid into a saucepan & reduced it by a third; adding cornstarch mixed in cold water when reduced. It thickened up perfectly! I served these w/ baked white american macaroni & cheese, cola beans & onions & cucumbers marinated in Italian dressing. Talk about some comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
there are really no words for this! MMMMM! I never thought that a crock pot could make such delicious ribs. The meat is so tender that it falls right off of the bone when taking them out. ( that's a good thing)very easy to make works well with regular bbq sauce substituted as well.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I gave this only 4* b/c of the thinness of the sauce. I doubled the amount of meat and used country style boneless pork ribs. Therefore I decided to 4X the sauce ingredients except for the beef broth (I used 2 - 14.5 oz cans for that). I ran out of soy sauce so used some teriyaki sauce I had on hand. I added 1 tsp. liquid smoke, 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 tsp black pepper to liquid then added it to the meat in the slow cooker. I cooked for 1 hour on high setting and then 4 hours on the low setting. Meat turned out very tender but the sauce needed some work (which after reading previous reviews I expected). I strained the sauce into a saucepan and brought to a boil and continued boiling for 15 minutes. Then I added 1/4 cup cornstarch mixed with 1/4 cup cold water, returned to a boil and cooked until thickened. Next time I'll use 1/2 cup of cornstarch and cold water b/c the sauce was still a little thin. However, the taste was GREAT!!! I'll be making this again soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Scaled to 2.5 lbs of ribs, and used a full bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ. Still was runny, but man, that is one tasty sauce!!! 2.5 hours on HIGH, and 4.5 hours on LOW - these, to me, were perfect. (DH thought they were a touch dry). Will make again, but next time, I'll be adding in either cayenne or hot sauce for a bit of a kick to the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very good! I used boneless pork tenderloin, but other than that I followed the recipe exact and it was a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
EASY and DELICIOUS - what more could you ask for? I used worcesterhire instead of soy because of personal preference only. Meat is so tender - falls off the bone! If you like moist ribs, you'll love this! Thanks for the great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I served a party of 25 this recipe and it received rave reviews! I loved that it was so easy to make too. I changed the recipe to 21 servings and used boneless country style pork ribs and was able to cook it all in just two 3.5qt crockpots. Served with homemade corn muffins, canned baked beans and roasted summer squash, along with a small keg of root beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
My husband took one bite and said I am the new rib cooker in the house. I did make a lot of changes, omitted water, baked at 300 for 10mins prior, added much more bbq sauce, much more honey, I used a Carolina Mustard bbc sauce instead of honey mustard, and I then basted in honey bbq sauce and put under the broiler for about 7 mins at the end. I did find it to be a bit watery, so next time I will omit the soy sauce and cut back on the broth. I saved the sauce and will use it as a marinade for pork chops later in the week. In the summer we may try cooking htem like this, then throwing them on the grill for a few mins instead of the broiler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makuplver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dardenne Prairie, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States