Honey Pork Oriental Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Kids loved it ... husband thought it was too "sweet-and-sour-ish." As for me, I liked the balance, but did opt for lower sodium dry gravy and garlic powder rather than garlic salt. Soy sauce does enough. I also cut the pepper into larger chunks and opted for half red and half green pepper and sweet onion. I'll make it again ... perhaps, though, prepare at a slower simmer so that the pork ends up a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This was a fantastic recipe and the fact that it was so simple just made it even better. However I did make a few changes: I used fresh chopped garlic and ginger instead of garlic salt and ground ginger. This made it taste even more oriental and with a much more refreshing taste. And instead of using gravy mix, I just added two tsp corn starch (dilluted in water) and added this while the liquid is simmering in the wok/pan. This recipe is now a staple in my kitchen and will keep on making it for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
The fiance really liked this one. The only change I made was to use a red bell pepper in place of the green one. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I loved this recipe however I did change somethings...which was more on accident...i ended up using terriaki sauce instead of soy sauce and i too doubled the sauce and tried it on rice than a second time w/noodles..its also really good w/either chicken or pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Delicious! I, too, doubled the sauce and served over sticky rice. I also used leftover pork sliced thin and cut back on the cooking time to keep the vegetables crisper. I'll definitely use this one again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I thought the cooking time was way too long. I sauteed the pork until a nice golden color, and only let the sauce simmer for about 7 minutes before adding veggies. I didn't have carrots, so I threw in red, yellow, and green bell peppers. The sauce is very, very good. It got a thumbs up from my oldest DS. There's not a lot of sauce, but that's how we like it. Overall, it was a good recipe that we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
We all liked it, even the picky eaters. I added a can of drained water chestnuts which was nice, bamboo shoots or bean sprouts would be a good addition as well. My husband said he thought it could have used more sauce, but my son and I thought it was just right by the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
very tasty. very different, but i had to double the sauce. we will definately have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Delicious! I had to substitute onion soup mix for gravy mix and red wine for red wine vinegar cause I didn't have the called for ingredients. I also didn't add onion since I used the soup mix. I ended up cooking too long and the veggies became soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This was both excellent and easy! With 4 young children it can be hard to find something all will like. But I found it in this recipe. Served over white rice this dish is a great mid-week delight. I even made the sauce a day before and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States