Honey Pork Oriental Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I like to experiment and add this and that, and while this recipe is wonderful just as it is, you can still play with it. First...I don't use wine vinegar, but white vinegar works just fine. Also, instead of just green pepper, I use 1/2 each red, yellow and green. Makes it very colorful. Also, try adding sliced mushrooms, sliced water chestnuts or bamboo shoots...and definately double the sauce! I serve this over Egg Fried Rice which you can also find the recipe for here, and it is a meal people won't soon forget. Just a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. It had a nice flavor a little sweeter then I anticipated.The only thing I did differently was shorten the cooking time and cut back on the oil. There is no need to cook the pork that long. I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I loved this recipe however I did change somethings...which was more on accident...i ended up using terriaki sauce instead of soy sauce and i too doubled the sauce and tried it on rice than a second time w/noodles..its also really good w/either chicken or pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This was a fantastic recipe and the fact that it was so simple just made it even better. However I did make a few changes: I used fresh chopped garlic and ginger instead of garlic salt and ground ginger. This made it taste even more oriental and with a much more refreshing taste. And instead of using gravy mix, I just added two tsp corn starch (dilluted in water) and added this while the liquid is simmering in the wok/pan. This recipe is now a staple in my kitchen and will keep on making it for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
We all liked it, even the picky eaters. I added a can of drained water chestnuts which was nice, bamboo shoots or bean sprouts would be a good addition as well. My husband said he thought it could have used more sauce, but my son and I thought it was just right by the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Awesome dinner idea! We used a whole green and red pepper chopped and took the advice by adding some bamboo shoots. We served over rice...we were all delighted with this dish. Can't wait to pass this one on to my mom! Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This was both excellent and easy! With 4 young children it can be hard to find something all will like. But I found it in this recipe. Served over white rice this dish is a great mid-week delight. I even made the sauce a day before and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Yum is right! This is a keeper. Didn't have pork loin so I used pork steaks and cut them into cubes. After browning the pork I poured off excess grease. Used low salt(lite) soy sauce and served this over unsalted white rice and it came out great. Next time I'll add some pineapple chunks along with with the green pepper and onion. Pork was so tender. Thanks Christine Johnson!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Great flavor in the sauce, but cooking the pork that long made it much too tough. I doubled the sauce as some suggested, and added in extra vegetables, and it was still too much sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Delicious! I, too, doubled the sauce and served over sticky rice. I also used leftover pork sliced thin and cut back on the cooking time to keep the vegetables crisper. I'll definitely use this one again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States