Honey-Poppy Seed Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I cooked the hens whole instead of cutting in half because I liked the look of serving a whole hen to my company. Worked out fine and they were delicious. I accidentally mixed the salt and pepper in with the honey, but it didn't seem to matter. It was hard to get the honey mixture to spread onto the hens so I actually stuck them in the oven for 3 minutes to get the skin dryer and warmer and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I added about a Tablesppon of fresh crushed garlic and it gave it such a kick that the 2 hens I made were not enough and most of my other dishes were over looked because they all wanted more of the hens! ADD FRESH GARLIC, YOU WONT REGRET IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrystleHanes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
We served this recipe at a retirement party and everyone enjoyed it. We cooked 16 cornish that night! They were easy to make and required only a little attention during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Wow! This was so great! The only change I made was to reserve about half of the sauce to coat the hens again right before serving. The ingredients may sound like a strange combination, but the flavor is just amazing. I'm going to try using this over chicken next time. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I was a little doubtful during the prepping of the hens because the honey mixture didn't exactly brush on. But the end result is beautiful! The hens are just bursting with juice and the honey mix gave the meat just enough flavor to not over power the natural flavor, and still make it taste good (I can't stand poultry plain) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Excellent Hens with wonderful rich flavor. Note: I brined the hens first in salt water for about 2 hours to increase the flavor and did add a bit of poppy seed dressing to the honey poppy mix. These were very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I love to cook, but because I'm a student, I can't spend as much time as I'd like preparing food. However, this recipe was delicious and it was SO EASY--it took under ten minutes to prepare! The only thing I did differently was to put some fresh herbs in between the skin and the meat while cooking. I'll definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasantville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
thanks for the nice way to make game hens carolyn!. i liked the simplicity & followed your recipe as directed. our birds were moist & tasty. i made this for the two of us & anticipated leftovers but there wasn't anything left over....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I made some modification to this recipe since there is a diabetic from one of my friend. I cut honey to one-third only and still came out perfect! Delicious hens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I fixed these for dinner tonight and they were delicious! Ok, I did make a couple of changes: I added the pepper to the mix instead of sprinkling directly on the hens. I omitted the poppy seeds because I didn't have any and instead added about a teaspoon of chilli powder. I also omitted the salt, as I do with many recipes, for a more sodium-conscious diet. Results...absolutely amazing! Beautifully roasted, crispy and moist. The honey and chilli powder married nicely for just the right amount of sweetness and kick! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States