Honey-Poppy Seed Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I am giving this recipes five stars because it was truly delicious! The only change I made was instead of honey, I used maple syrup..kind of a big change, but I was out of honey. I believe, however, that this would be just as good with honey! The maple glazed my hen perfectly, and it browned beautifully! MMmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twobeads

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Level, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Great for a dinner party. The chicken was good, but perhaps lacking a bit of salt and flavor. But a very good basic chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
realy good, but the flavor didnt sink in so well, next time i make cornish hens i think im going to try mairnating them in the honey and poppy seed mix frist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This was pretty awful. The basting mix is so wet that the skin was soggy--not crisp at all. The Cornish Hen seemed "stewed," not roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was a really easy recipe and tasted great. I served it with wild rice and baby carrots. The plate looked great. I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it was really very bland. It definitely needs some sort of added seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Juicy, but too sweet and not very flavorful (for my tastes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe was DELICIOUS!!!! My husband ate a whole bird!!! I will definately make this dish again. I will add more honey (We like things sweet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I made this for Christmas last year and it got rave reviews from everyone. Excellent honey-poppy seed dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This was amazing. I dare say, my favorite way to eat a little chicken. It was so good, that I suggest trying this on grilled chicken. I ate the whole hen, a first for me. Thank you, we will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States