Honey-Poppy Seed Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Bland. I even added more ginger than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooter
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is the second time made this , this time around I doubled the honey sauce recipe , I then microwaved it for 25 seconds to soften the honey to make it stir easier , I then cut hens in half and dried with paper towel , I then spread the pepper salt mix ( this time around I used fresh cracked peppercorns and pink Himalayan salt to boost flavor ) , with the birds bring dried off I then took a dipping spoon/1 table spoon ladle and applied the honey mixture being it was semi viscous and it coated the hens very nicely with them being dryer it stuck like glue right where I wanted it to be. I then put in pan applied salt pepper again to the bottom side and then applied honey mix and put in the convection oven at 350 for an hour turning once in between , this time it was way gooder !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I added chopped garlic and crushed red pepper but found it still needed more flavor. If I make this again I will double the recipe and baste the hens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I read the other reviews and doubled the glaze; glad I did, it would not have been enough otherwise. I brushed on the glaze at the beginning and again when I turned them skin side up. Had just enough left to brush on for the final minutes. I used what I had on hand, cane patch syrup instead of honey, flax seed instead of poppy seed, and I doubled the seeds and the ginger (so really quadrupled the seeds and ginger!) and it was perfect! Excellent flavor! Time and temperature were just right! :) I made sweet potatoes with butter, clove, cinnamon and sugar; went well with the hens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This was great! I've always wanted to try game hens, and found them at a great price. These turned out SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I fixed these for dinner tonight and they were delicious! Ok, I did make a couple of changes: I added the pepper to the mix instead of sprinkling directly on the hens. I omitted the poppy seeds because I didn't have any and instead added about a teaspoon of chilli powder. I also omitted the salt, as I do with many recipes, for a more sodium-conscious diet. Results...absolutely amazing! Beautifully roasted, crispy and moist. The honey and chilli powder married nicely for just the right amount of sweetness and kick! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I've started thinking of this recipe as the "we've been in a relationship for a year and I wish he would propose so I'm going to make this for him" recipe. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This sauce is delicious. The hens turned out great. Had to use bottled dijon because I thought I had powdered mustard on hand, but didn't. Will be putting this sauce on my spiral sliced Christmas ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very good flavor, I would suggest you double honey, ginger, ground mustard and poppy seed mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
It was easy and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States