Honey-Poached Quince Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This pie is absolutely amazing! Although I made some modifications. I used quince with apples and I had more apples thah quince. I seemed 1/2 cup honey and 3/4 cup in the sauce would be very sweet, so I used only 1/4 cup brown sugar in the sauce and it was enough. When I added the sugar mixture to the reserved quince liquid the sauce became too thick, so I needed to add more water. I`m sure this pie will be amazing not only with quince, but with apples or pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Really very nice but time consuming. I only had three quinces so I cooked those up and then while they were cooking, topped them up with apple. I only used about a third of a cup of demera sugar in the sauce because the recipe looked a bit sweet and it was beautiful. Worth the time it took to make! Next time I plan to make 2 and freeze one to save time. Would thoroughly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This very nice pie is brimming with fruit. As the recipe description states the quince has a floral essence that reminds me of rose water. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I hadn't even heard of quince until a few days ago. I doubled the recipe and actually had enough sauce for 2 deep dish pies. I used Pillsbury pie crust and rubbed melted butter onto the top of the pie and generously sprinkled white sugar on it as well. The bake time was less for me, was ready about halfway through the 45 minute time. I highly recommend this recipe! Sweet/tart yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I did the recipe just as instructed but found it was too sweet for my taste so next time I'll cut the sugar by half. I'd like to try brown sugar instead of white too. The amount of liquid was fine, but if reducing the sugar it would be best to add a bit more water when the quince are cooking. Great pie! we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
It's a good recipe, what I would do the next time is put half of the filling on the crust, then de cooked quince and then the other half of the filling. This to combine the flavor much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
WAY too much honey. I didn't even use a 1/2 cup because it seemed a bit much, and it still came out tasting more like a honey pie. Vanilla ice cream helped temper it, and otherwise was good. You may only need 1 or 2 tbsp tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
A delicious pie that was very easy to make. I had 4 large quinces given to me from a friend's farm and decided to use them on this recipe. The 4 peeled and sliced quinces probably only made up 2 pounds word but it was plenty for a shallow dish. I also used an organic honey that was pretty intense flavor-wise, so next time I'll probably use a little less or go for a honey with a more mellow fragrance... Gobbled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I've been using different mods on this recipe for a year now and its definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
We changed ours quite a bit. We added apples, pears and blackberries, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was wonderful and was gone in an instant. We did follow the advice in the recipe and used a homemade crust (always the best!) Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States