Honey Pineapple Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ashley2389
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This recipe was wonderful, although I did change a few things: I used chicken thighs rather than breasts (they stay moister and have more a Chinese-takeout taste), I dredged the chicken in cornstarch rather than flower (more absorbent and, again, more a Chinese-takeout flavor), and I didn't brush the chicken with the pineapple-honey mixture before cooking. *I seared the each side of the chicken for about 2-3 minutes and removed from the pan. *I made the sauce by sautéing a clove a garlic (minced) and some ginger, and then immediately added the pineapple juice (all I had was juice, not canned pineapple), honey, and a bit of red pepper flakes. I cooked the sauce for about 2-3 minutes, before removing it from the pan (it makes more sense to cook the sauce first, but I didn't realize this until after). *I dipped the seared chicken into the sauce before returning it to the frying pan for about 1-2 minutes each side. *I added the rest of the pineapple-honey sauce, reduced the heat, and let it simmer until done, flipping occasionally. It doesn't take long to finish, and it falls apart. *I served with white rice, spooning some of the cooked sauce over my rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I took a chance & baked this dish with large chicken breasts (unflattened) in this sauce but followed all other directions as is, baked at 375 F for 1 hour - juicy, tasty and easy! Must cover baking dish. I can't wait to to marinade my chicken next time - not for too long though, the acidity from the pineapple tenderizes chicken fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonAppetitBaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
My family loves this recipe! It's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Beaumier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Came out perfect, tender and flavorful. I disregarded the red wine vinegar and fresh mint. After coating with flour and then pineapple juice/honey mixture I just cooked the chicken with the rest of the liquid mixture. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennipierson
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
My husband said I could give this 4 stars if I promised to say that it's much better if you mix a little honey and pineapple together to serve on top. I served this very flavorful dish with plain white rice and string beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ahwatukee, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I just realized that I haven't rated this yet and I'm planning on making it again this week! We all loved it. We made it how the recipe is written except for the mint. We also cut the chicken into bite size pieces as many have commented on. It's so good, and we plan to make it regularly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I was looking for something fast and good made with chicken and pineapple and found this recipe. I made it for supper tonight and it was very good. I cut my chicken up into small pieces and did not add the vinegar or mint. Otherwise, everything else was the same. This is a keeper! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Great sauce. Omitted mint. Added pineapple to pan. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Nothing special. Pretty much tasted like chicken and pineapple, but I love both ingredients so it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Good recipe! However, if you do use the mint, chop it up VERY small! I didn't prefer the texture of the leaves with the chicken, but overall a nice tasting dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States