Honey-Pecan Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Absolutely delicious. I've made this twice, and the second time I removed the chicken from the pan when done, stirred the honey and pecans into the drippings, and heated for about 3 minutes. Then I put the mixture on top of the chicken when I plate it. I prefer to make it that way now because it just makes a nicer glaze and really coats the pecans and makes them stick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyson
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Pretty Good, but I thought the honey taste was just a little strong. It made the chicken too sweet and almost sickly after awhile. So maybe next time I make this recipe I'll use a little less honey, but that's just my personal taste. I toasted the pecans first in the oven for a couple mins just to bring out more of the yummy nutty flavor. I also followed many other suggestions and cooked the chicken first and then the honey and pecans to put on top. I also have a little tip to share when measuring the honey: Spray the measuring cup with a little oil first, that way you get the full amount and none of it sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
There was something about it i just didn't like. I think it was that i took the advice of mixing the honey and pecans with the juices in the pan. If i would have just drissled the honey over the chicken like the recipe said i believe i would have enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
5 stars +! My boyfriend and I loooove this recipe. I've made it both as stated and as other reviewers have suggested, by removing the chicken and cooking the honey/pecans separately, and I agree that the latter method is preferrable. I usually put the pecans in a baggie and roll over them with a rolling pin; however, don't pulverize them! I like them somewhat coarse so I can really enjoy the crunch. I serve this on a bed of wild or brown rice; the texture is a nice contrast to the nuts. Don't skimp on the cayenne! Sooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big_al_728

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DesiLuGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This is a great recipe. It's fast, easy, and all the ingredients is already in your pantry! I Love it! I made it for Valentines Dinner. My three year old just ate it up. My husband isn't too big on sweets but he did help himself to seconds. I thought it would be too sweet with the honey but all the ingredients complemented each other so well. I did have to cook the chicken a little bit longer then directed and I also incorporated the pan drippings with the honey and pecans. It did stick to chicken just beautifully after I plated it. Overall, a BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DesiLuGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Yummy dish! I too set aside the chicken while I warmed the honey & pecans with the drippings...I was afraid that it would turn out be a very sweet dish, but the Cayenne spice balanced out the flavor so it was not too sweet at all! In fact, it had a spicy flare! I definitely recommend giving this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Even my hubby liked it. WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyJo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
What's not to love about this recipe? Fast, few ingredients and delish! I was afraid that it would be overly sweet with honey being the dominant flavor here. I took the advice of others and added the honey and nuts to the pan juices, which probably diluted the honey a little and the cayenne is what really gave this another layer and dimension of flavor. Great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is a great, easy, quick recipe with great flavor rewards. I made some alterations... Our local market sells boneless chicken breast pieces much cheaper than the whole breast. I used these and cut into smaller bite sized pieces. I used 1/2 of the butter and about one tbls. of safflower oil to brown. I also had some mandarin oranges that were perfectly ripe. I thinly sliced the peeling and cut open the fruit and added to the pan while the chicken was browning. I followed the recipe suggestions of others and removed the chicken from the pan when it was brown. I mixed the honey and pecans together in the pan and added the other 1/2 of the butter at this time. I also added about one to two tbls. of orange juice at this point and let the sauce cook down some. This way, each person could have as much or as little of the sauce as they wanted. I served w/4-cheese rice and steamed broccoli. My family LOVED it and said I should sell it! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillyJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I made this for my husband and kids for our valentine's day dinner. Totally yummy! The kids liked it better without the pecan and honey glaze... but I think they are crazy! I definitely recommend taking the chicken out of the pan when done, then adding the honey and pecans (mix) to cook for 2 or 3 minutes. I added the chicken back in and stirred to coat. Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States