Honey Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is a good recipe for the often forgotten parsnip. I love 'em - they cook quickly and taste so sweet. I prepare parnsips in a similar way but on the stove top. I steam them lightly and finish them n a frying pan with melted butter combined with honey or brown sugar. Lightly coat and brown parsnips over medium low heat. I particularly like this dish with a roast of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
In addition to the listed ingredients, I added a little salt, a little dark brown sugar, a sprinkle of cinnamon, and the juice of half a lemon to help cut the sweetness, and I loved the way they turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
absolutely delicious! i added a small amt of nutmeg and cayenne for a kick. i was afraid of parsnips because i thought they were long versions of turnips. i was so wrong and had to go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is my first experience cooking and eating parsnips. I had to cook them much longer than the recipe stated in order for them to be very soft. Perhaps if the dish had been covered, they would have cooked quicker. Neither my husband nor I cared for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I thought these were pretty good. Added a pinch os cinnamon, too. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Delicious! I added carrots and can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
They were great! My husband and I will definitely be using this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Yummy! This was super easy to make and tasted delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and it was very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is a simple, delicious way to prepare parsnips. I prepared them exactly as the recipe stated and was completely satisfied; the parsnips were delightfully sweet and perfectly cooked. I'm looking forward to serving this dish at Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Steamed ahead of time to reduce cooking time on the stove. Serve with drizzled honey and feta for a more elaborate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renbyrd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States