Honey Orange Firecracker Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
SOOOO GOOD! I used regular honey and 1/2'd it, and there was still some left over, so just a heads up on that. The seasoning in the cornstarch mixture was perfect, IMO. These were exactly how I'd hoped they'd be...we were very happy w/ dinner tonight! Def be making these again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was sooooo good! I followed a reviewers advice to reduce the honey sauce by half - perfect amount. I was looking for more of a sweet and spicy sauce but between pure honey and orange zest it was way more sweet and not enough spicy so I doubled the cayenne. Next time I will reduce the orange zest, keep the cayenne amount the same, and add additional spice with beautiful flecks of crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
My husband and I loved this recipe. We'll be making it again many times. It's just the right blend of sweet and spicy. I used a nonstick skillet to fry the shrimp and didn't need as much oil as called for. Other than that, I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This shrimp was delicious! I also cut the honey by half and used 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes instead of cayenne. The sauce came out really thick but that's probably because I accidentally let it simmer too long. I didn't really measure the lemon juice, but I should have because it was a little sweet and the right amount of lemon would have made it perfect. I also put the shrimp into the pan with the sauce and completely coated them instead of drizzling the sauce. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is by far the best Fried Shrimp recipe I have every tried. It is Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This recipe is very tasty. Next time we will definitely cut down on the honey, a full cup is way too much. We just drizzled the sauce on the shrimp and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Wonderful recipe. Used regular honey and that was the only thing we did different. I made last week and my husband wanted me to make for Valentine's dinner. I told friends how wonderful it was and they all want the recipe. Make this.... the flavor AMAZING~ you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
A fun recipe to try! When my boyfriend came up from downstairs to eat, he said it smelled like something gourmet was cookin’ in the kitchen! He was pleased with how it tasted—he enjoyed everything about it! As the person who prepared it, I made a couple changes: I used olive oil in place of canola oil (out of sheer laziness…it was within arms reach…though, it definitely has a higher smoke point!). I used regular honey, though I read “tupelo honey is the standard by which all other honeys are measured” so if you can get your hands on some, you might have an even tastier dinner. :) I agree with the others who halved the honey mixture (which I zapped in the microwave) and I would definitely increase the cayenne if you want any heat. I’d also say you could probably get away with half the cornstarch mixture, but since it’s pretty cheap, I suppose it’s better to have an excess than run out and have to make a little more. –Yum! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Loved this recipe, so easy, quick and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Made this recipe for my husband and daughter tonight and they loved it. I accidentally added the cayenne pepper to the flour mixture so I added a little extra to the sauce. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States