Honey Orange Firecracker Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
A fun recipe to try! When my boyfriend came up from downstairs to eat, he said it smelled like something gourmet was cookin’ in the kitchen! He was pleased with how it tasted—he enjoyed everything about it! As the person who prepared it, I made a couple changes: I used olive oil in place of canola oil (out of sheer laziness…it was within arms reach…though, it definitely has a higher smoke point!). I used regular honey, though I read “tupelo honey is the standard by which all other honeys are measured” so if you can get your hands on some, you might have an even tastier dinner. :) I agree with the others who halved the honey mixture (which I zapped in the microwave) and I would definitely increase the cayenne if you want any heat. I’d also say you could probably get away with half the cornstarch mixture, but since it’s pretty cheap, I suppose it’s better to have an excess than run out and have to make a little more. –Yum! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by hautepie
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Amazing! The shrimp combined with the orange honey sauce was very tasty. I wanted to eat the sauce alone since it smelled so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamela Gore
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great dinner and easy! I did as many other did and 1/2 the honey and added red pepper flakes. It turned out perfect! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Gore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This shrimp was delicious! I also cut the honey by half and used 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes instead of cayenne. The sauce came out really thick but that's probably because I accidentally let it simmer too long. I didn't really measure the lemon juice, but I should have because it was a little sweet and the right amount of lemon would have made it perfect. I also put the shrimp into the pan with the sauce and completely coated them instead of drizzling the sauce. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Made this recipe for my husband and daughter tonight and they loved it. I accidentally added the cayenne pepper to the flour mixture so I added a little extra to the sauce. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Followed the recipe except did half of the honey as suggested. Also had to use local honey. It was excellent! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
My husband and I loved this recipe. We'll be making it again many times. It's just the right blend of sweet and spicy. I used a nonstick skillet to fry the shrimp and didn't need as much oil as called for. Other than that, I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is by far the best Fried Shrimp recipe I have every tried. It is Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Wonderful recipe. Used regular honey and that was the only thing we did different. I made last week and my husband wanted me to make for Valentine's dinner. I told friends how wonderful it was and they all want the recipe. Make this.... the flavor AMAZING~ you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Loved this recipe, so easy, quick and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States