Honey Of An Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Just made this for the second time. It's a great all-around bread recipe. Good for sandwiches, toast, and eating with butter. I'll make it regularly. The one pound loaf is a good size for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I love the bread I've made using this recipe as a guide, but I do not think the recipe is OK without some significant tweaking. I first made the recipe three different times in a bread machine, varying from exactly to almost exactly as written (higher oat:flour ratio, more honey etc.), and got delicious but extremely dense bread every time. The texture was not at all OK for sandwiches or toast. It became misshapen basically immediately after cooling and cutting it into neat slices was impossible. We still devoured it, but it was ugly enough that I wouldn't serve it to guests! Today I finally got the loaf to exactly the right texture. I doubled the yeast (2 tsp) and definitely recommend trying that. In the past, I had also used extra honey because I like this as more of a sweet dinner bread than for sandwiches. It tastes good with 1/4 cup, but if you like more of that sweet roll flavor in a loaf, go for about 1/3 cup. I use the white bread/medium crust setting on my bread machine. Do NOT use the quick cycle, especially without the added yeast. It needs that extra hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
My family loves this recipe! The only problem I have is we have to wait so long and by the time we all have a warm piece with melted butter the whole loaf is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I make this bread almost every day! It's so simple and really good. I used safflower oil instead of vegetable oil because it's healthier. It tastes better too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheryl
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This recipe was good. I followed the recipe as written. I set the bread machine on the dough cycle. Once completed, I then removed the dough and punched it down a few times to remove the air. I formed it to fit into my bread pan, covered it, and let it rise for an hour and a half. I baked it for about 35 minutes until the top was golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and made 1.5 of a loaf for my breadmaker. It was delicious! Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
love this bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I was so happy at how flavorful it was even though it didn't include any dairy or eggs. My younger boys can't have any butter, milk or eggs in their diet so this worked out beautifully! I followed the recipe exactly and I am making it again today! I might add a little more oatmeal and a little less flour to see how this affects the flavor/texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I love this recipe and made it with no alternations. I could be making this loaf every week too! Thank you so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This bread was amazing. My family loved the slightly sweet and nutty flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States