Honey Of An Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This was very easy to make and it came out great! I did make one change, however. Instead of using all white flour, I used half white flour and half whole wheat flour. This gave it more fiber and a better, nuttier taste. Also, I don't use bread flour in my bread machine. Unbleached all-purpose flour is good enough for me because if I did have all these different flours, I wouldn't have any room in my cabinets. Although I don't use bread flour, I do add vital wheat gluten, which is available at supermarkets. This gives more volume to loaves and a more bread-like texture. The rule is to add one teaspoon of wheat gluten per cup of flour or one and a half teaspoons per cup of whole grain(or whole wheat)flour. I hope this tip was helpful for those who may be having trouble with the size of their bread loaves as a result of not using bread flour. I will be making this bread again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2001
Hi All, I submitted this recipe a couple years ago and am just now checking back. We still go through a loaf a day (the kids even fight over the crusts!), but we do use 2 1/3 cups of flour not the 2 cups that I originally wrote the recipe as. A "heavy" tsp. of yeast is nice also. Will try the butter in place of oil, sounds good. Enjoy!! Merrilee Bell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I really liked this recipe - the bread was very tasty and had a good texture. My only problem is that I don't like bread from a bread machine in general - the crust is too thick. So the second time I made it, I let my machine just make the dough and then I baked it in the oven instead (350 degrees until nicely browned). It turned out WONDERFUL! I now make this bread all the time - at least twice a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
I found this to be the best bread machine recipe yet. Not too dense like many are. I, too, increased the yeast and flour. I also have tried several variations that work well and give a different flavor. Try adding seeds or nuts (ie, sunflower, pumpkin, pecans, walnuts). They are delicious. Add them during the second kneed or at the add-in buzzer. Also, you can replace some of the flour (I generally use 1/3-2/3 cup) with either cornmeal or whole wheat flour. I also have replaced the honey with molasses. They all work well and you can mix and match! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
We love this recipe. I make this bread 2x per wk. at least. Family loves it plain, in sandwiches, as french toast etc. Some small changes that work for me... Add 1 tbsp brwn sugar, 1/3c whole wheat flour, 1 extra tsp yeast, reduce bread flour to 2c (or 2 1/4c depending on humidity). Bake on white, med. crust setting for 1.5lb loaf. Comes out PERFECT every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Perfect and foolproof bread. One of the few recipes I found needed no changes or tinkering. I didn't like the description of its being lightly sweet, however, so I reduced the honey by about a third, only for my own preference, though I'm sure it's excellent just as written. Great bread for toasting or sandwiches with a mildly different taste because of the oatmeal. I used a new bread machine which I haven't mastered yet, but this recipe came out perfectly on the first try. This will be one to hang on to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
WOW! YUM! I don't own a bread machine, so I did this: * Proof one packet of regular yeast with the water and honey for about 8 minutes. * Add the remaining ingredients all at once and knead in stand mixer with the dough hook for another 8-10 minutes, on a medium/low setting. * Oil the bowl and the dough, cover it, and let it rise for an hour in a warm oven. * Punch it down, plop in the loaf pan and rise another 30 minutes. * Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. FANTASTIC bread. Makes a wicket grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This is absolutely delicious! Crusty on the outside and very soft on the inside. Slightly sweet tasting. I will be making this one a lot to use for sandwiches or to just eat as a snack. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Great recipe, i found it very easy for such a delicious bread. I prepared this is my bread machine using the dough cycle only, then shaped the dough into rolls, letting them rise again for 30 minutes before baking (350 for about 35 minutes). I usually make bread this way since we really only eat it with salads or soup anyway. These were really good with a little butter and brown sugar. Thanks Merrilee :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
Really tasty . . . I think I'll skip buying sandwich bread at the supermarket from now on and make this instead. After reading the other reviews, I also added a bit more flour, oats and yeast and I baked the loaf in my oven at 350 for about 40 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States