Honey Of An Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This bread is the best I have tried yet, and I don't plan to look any further! I use my kitchen aid because I make 2 loaves at a time and it won't fit in my bread machine. I let the honey, warm water and yeast sit for about 5 min before adding everything else in the mixing bowl. I use the dough hook and let it go on the lowest setting for 5 min, adding flour as it goes until the dough doesn't stick to the sides. Then I let it rise for 30min to 1 hour (doubled in size), punch it down, divide into 2 loaf pans and let it rise another 30 min- 1 hour(the size I want my loaf). I bake it at 350 for 30 min. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Did great in a donated Breadman TR444 bread maker that's been hard to get to produce a good loaf. For sweetener I used 1 T molasses, 3 T honey; sub'd 1/3 C whole wheat flour; the rest used King Arthur unbleached white bread flour; added 1 T water; used water warm; added 4 t gluten. 1.5 lb white bread medium setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackinthewoods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Just made this for the second time. It's a great all-around bread recipe. Good for sandwiches, toast, and eating with butter. I'll make it regularly. The one pound loaf is a good size for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I've made using this recipe as a guide. I first made the recipe three different times in a bread machine, varying from exactly to almost exactly as written (higher oat:flour ratio, more honey etc.), and got delicious but extremely dense bread every time. The texture was not at all OK for sandwiches or toast. It became misshapen basically immediately after cooling and cutting it into neat slices was impossible. We still devoured it, but it was ugly enough that I wouldn't serve it to guests! Today I finally got the loaf to exactly the right texture. I doubled the yeast (2 tsp) and definitely recommend trying that. In the past, I had also used extra honey because I like this as more of a sweet dinner bread than for sandwiches. It tastes good with 1/4 cup, but if you like more of that sweet roll flavor in a loaf, go for about 1/3 cup. I use the white bread/medium crust setting on my bread machine. Do NOT use the quick cycle, especially without the added yeast. It needs that extra hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
My family loves this recipe! The only problem I have is we have to wait so long and by the time we all have a warm piece with melted butter the whole loaf is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I make this bread almost every day! It's so simple and really good. I used safflower oil instead of vegetable oil because it's healthier. It tastes better too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheryl
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This recipe was good. I followed the recipe as written. I set the bread machine on the dough cycle. Once completed, I then removed the dough and punched it down a few times to remove the air. I formed it to fit into my bread pan, covered it, and let it rise for an hour and a half. I baked it for about 35 minutes until the top was golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and made 1.5 of a loaf for my breadmaker. It was delicious! Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
love this bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I was so happy at how flavorful it was even though it didn't include any dairy or eggs. My younger boys can't have any butter, milk or eggs in their diet so this worked out beautifully! I followed the recipe exactly and I am making it again today! I might add a little more oatmeal and a little less flour to see how this affects the flavor/texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States