Honey Of An Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Holy Cow! This is some good bread. Not entirely sure what my review can add that the other 250+ haven't already said, but after I had this, I knew I had a duty to say something. The only alteration I made was to use 1 cup of whole wheat flour in with 1 1/3 cups of white. I also don't use bread flour, just plain old unbleached all purpose. But man is this delish!! Normally I find bread from the bread machine not as good the next day, but this definitely keeps. One note, though. I baked this on the light crust setting and it was still a tad gooey in the center. Not so bad as to render this inedible, but definitely enough that next time, I'll probably go ahead for medium crust. Because there most definitely WILL be a next time. And soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
good simple bread. great for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I love this bread! This is my first review so bear with me! I am new to bread making but I mixed this up in my Kitchen Aid stand mixer, letting the dough hook do most of the work. Then I kneaded it for a couple minutes on the counter. The first time I made it I doubled the recipe, used only all purpose flour and added about 1/3 cup of ground flax. This made one loaf and 8 mini loaves. The results were great! The bread was dense and moist, the crust wasn't overly crusty, just the way I like it. After reading one reviewers comments on how she adds wheat gluten to AP flour rather than buy bread flour I tried to find wheat gluten at the grocery store but was unable to. So the second time I made the bread I did everything the same, maybe I added a bit more flour as I was feeling cocky due to my past success and I wasn't being as careful with the measuring. Again, the bread turned out wonderful. My kids and I love it lightly toasted with peanut butter in the morning. I'm still going to be on the lookout for wheat gluten because I am curious to see what effect it has but honestly, I love the way this bread has turned out using the all purpose flour. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I didn't change this recipe a bit- this is perfect bread! Seriously soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. My kids loved it alone...then we tried it with pumpkin butter and that was great too. A new fave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is THE Best tasting homemade bread yet!! I double the recipe, mix it in my bread maker, then split it into 3 loaves and cook. I make at least once a week, my family LOVES it! If they are all home when it comes out of the oven, the first loaf is gone that evening! Thanks for the great recipe. Hasn't failed me yet and I've been making it for weeks now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
1 1/2 tsp. yeast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Delicious made with 1/2 whole wheat and half white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
great bread. I used A.P. Flour and added some gluten, then added flax seed along with the oatmeal. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I made this exactly as directed. The bread itself is very good. Light and airy, and very much like store bought bread. However, the crust is thick and crunchy, with kind of a chewy texture. I am not too crazy about the crust, but this might be a bread machine thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Made this last night, BF made his lunch and then he and my daughter finished the loaf - IT WAS A HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States