Honey Of An Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This bread turned out very light inside with a chewy crust. The loaf bakes into a dark shade at the Light Crust setting, so it's important to remember. I followed suggestion and threw in some pumpkin and sunflower seeds. It added some interest to bread, but it would have been tasty without them too. Overall this bread has the right proportions, just a bit too airy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I accidently use 1 whole packet of yeast and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
WOW! YUM! I don't own a bread machine, so I did this: * Proof one packet of regular yeast with the water and honey for about 8 minutes. * Add the remaining ingredients all at once and knead in stand mixer with the dough hook for another 8-10 minutes, on a medium/low setting. * Oil the bowl and the dough, cover it, and let it rise for an hour in a warm oven. * Punch it down, plop in the loaf pan and rise another 30 minutes. * Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. FANTASTIC bread. Makes a wicket grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Good flavor, but for some reason it baked too long which made it almost burn to the pan, so I couldn't really get it out of the bread machine. I never have had that problem before. Next time I will end the process a little early. I also want to try making into rolls as another reviewer commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is our favorite bread recipe. I doubled the recipe to make one large loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
A delicious multi-purpose bread. Bakes beautifully in the machine, is delicious hot and fresh with butter, great for sandwiches and toast the next day. I followed the suggestions of increasing the whole wheat flour, yeast, and 1tbsp brown sugar. Thank you for a great recipe and helpful-hint reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Too bad we can't do half stars, because I would give this recipe 4 1/2. This is because I did make some changes. I proofed one packet of Hodgson Mill Active Dry Yeast in 1/4 cup water with 1/4 tsp of natural sugar (per instructions) for about 5-10 minutes. I warmed up the remaining 3/4 water to add later to the recipe. I put everything, with the exception of starting out with 1 1/2 flour, in the food processor and mixed thoroughly. Then I added another whole cup of flour gradually and pulsing it til it was mixed. That brings the total flour tally to 2 1/2 cups. I also put 1 tbsp of vital wheat gluten per 1 cup of unbleached flour. Then I kneaded the dough for about 8-10 minutes of a floured surface, adding a little more flour each time it got sticky. Put it in an oiled bowl covered with a damp cloth and stuck it in a warmed oven for 1 hour, then punched dough down and put it in a 9x5x3 loaf pan lined with parchment paper and covered it again and put it in warmed oven for 45 minutes (I would recommend sprinkling a little flour on top before covering it a second time as the dough will stick to the damp cloth). Then took loaf pan with dough out and let it rise another 15 minutes while I warmed up the oven to 350. Baked the loaf at 350 for 35 minutes as recommended by another reviewer. Let it cool on rack for 5-10 minutes then put in into a plastic bread bag so the heat would help keep the loaf soft. Husband and kids gave a big thumbs up!! Thank you!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've received many requests for this recipe when I make it for large gatherings or take it to people for a meal when they're sick, new baby, etc. GREAT recipe. My family loves it and it's a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These make wonderful rolls. Use dough setting on machine. When cycle is done, place dough on lightly flourered surface. Punch down to remove air. Shape into 15 round rolls (knead in slightly more flour if too sticky). Arrange in 9x12 lightly greased glass pan. Cover lightly with greased plastic wrap. Let rise in warm place until doubled (about an hour). Remove plastic. Bake 375 degrees for 15-18 minutes or until lightly browned. Turn out onto rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
GREAT recipe! Didn't use a bread machine, doubled the recipe for two loaves, and it turned out beautifully at 350 for 35 min. The only thing I will try next time is cutting the honey by half. Great texture. Was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States