Honey Of An Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This bread had a great flavor, but I had problems with the amount of flour. It was almost soupy when it was kneading in the machine, so I had to guess and add more flour. The final loaf came out a little tough on the outside, but I'm not an experienced bread maker (hence using a machine). I don't plan to give up on this recipe, just fine tune how I can adjust the flour amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Love this bread! Perfect texture (even though I just used all-purpose unbleached flour). Just a hint of sweetness. Delicious with a smattering of peanut butter. I can see why the recipe poster goes through a loaf a day! I will be making this very, very often!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrissie
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This has become my fave breakfast bread...I half n halfed with wheat flour and used heaping measurements for my yeast and oats.I used quick oats (what I had in the cabinet) added an extra splash of hunny...DELISH toasted with just a touch of butter melting on top..thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie
Living In: Keithville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I liked this bread. It was tasty. Its very soft and a little sweet. More of a dinner type bread than for sandwiches, unless looking for a sweeter taste with the sandwich. I am finally able to understand many of these bread recipes on this site and how they will work with my Zojirushi bread machine. Note the amount of pounds the loaf states on the recipe. My machine makes 1.5 or 2lb standard loaves only. It does not make 1lb loaves. So, I did 1.5 times the recipe and it worked perfect! I just used the changed servings button and changed it to 15 servings. I got 16 slices of bread using my Presto bread slicing guide at 159 calories per slice. I did use the basic setting and light crust as suggested. My only change was subbing 1 cup of the bread flour with Gold Medal's white whole wheat flour and right before the baking on the machine started I sprinkled some rolled oats on the top for garnish. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
very good texture and taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Disaster! I followed the recipe exactly but the loaf was a soggy mess. The bottom half was almost completely uncooked, the top half had risen then collapsed. Shame as I was really looking forward to this one. Not sure if I will have another go as am not sure what to change...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Gault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly Lane Epstein
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Sooo delicious! I definitely recommend doubling the recipe because the quantity is pretty small for a bread maker. I set my machine to 1.5 lbs (there is a 1.5 or 2.5 option) and it still seemed like I needed a little more dough. Recipe is delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
soooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now and each time my family begs for more! I followed this recipe exactly as written. So easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This bread is the best I have tried yet, and I don't plan to look any further! I use my kitchen aid because I make 2 loaves at a time and it won't fit in my bread machine. I let the honey, warm water and yeast sit for about 5 min before adding everything else in the mixing bowl. I use the dough hook and let it go on the lowest setting for 5 min, adding flour as it goes until the dough doesn't stick to the sides. Then I let it rise for 30min to 1 hour (doubled in size), punch it down, divide into 2 loaf pans and let it rise another 30 min- 1 hour(the size I want my loaf). I bake it at 350 for 30 min. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States