Honey Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
I used butter instead of shortening, because I wanted that honey-butter flavor. If you use butter as well, add 1/2 c more of flour, to compensate for the natural water content in most supermarket butters. Also, after mixing, let the batter sit for about 10 minutes, to allow the oats to take in the wet ingredients. I also baked at 325 instead of 350, because it seemed like they were burning at the higher temp. The cookies are cakelike, and go great with a glass of cold milk. I just have to wonder if the vanilla cuts down the honey flavor. Next time, I will omit the vanilla from the recipe and see how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Good flavor but it's not an oatmeal cookie without raisins!!! After reading the other reviews I added 3/4 cup raisins to the wet ingredients and let it sit for 15 minutes before mixing in the dry ingredients. I also added 3/4 cup walnuts and substituted whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour. After mixing all the ingredients I let the dough stand for about 10 minutes before baking and it helped with the too much moisture "problem." I cooked my cookies on unglazed stoneware like "pampered chef" and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Perfect! Not sugary sweet at all, which was exactly what I was looking for. Used butter instead and semi-sweet chcolate chips. I'm making it again and I'm using walnuts, this time. The texture is perfect, and the tatse is wonderful. DO NOT MAKE IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GOOEY SWEET COOKIE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is such a great tasting oatmeal recipe. I did make quite a few adjustments based on the reviews. Here is what I did and they turned out PERFECT & so flavorful! I replaced the shortening with 3/4 cup butter. Added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. ground cloves, 1/4 cup brown sugar, and a pinch of salt to the dry ingredients. I also added 3/4 cup raisins & 3/4 cup chopped walnuts. I baked them at 325 for 20 min. and they were just slightly golden brown on the bottom. I was also using Pampered Chef stoneware to bake on. I will definitely use this recipe many many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
My husband can have only honey as a sweetener. I add an extra half cup of flour and use whole wheat flour to get what looks a lot like macaroons, and he loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
You will absolutely love these cookies if you are a health nut, or if you have a cookie-obsessed toddler and are trying to cut down on their sugar intake. I wouldn't serve these to a non-dieting adult and call them cookies. But, if you don't expect them to be sweet, the texture is great. They're like oatmeal cake. I will definitely be using this recipe (but not for ME hehe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I omited the shortening and added butter in it's place. Then, left the vinilla out and used another cup of honey. 1/2 cup more flour. Poured some chocolate chips in there. Wonderful! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
These cookies are not at all to my liking! No flavor. I did not like the texture. A waste of honey. I was expecting so much more. Once I bit into it I had to check the recipe to make sure I hadn't forgotten anything! I tried saving the rest of the batches with chocolate chips but to no avail. I don't know how this received 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
These are very nice "tea" cookies because they need something like milk or tea to go with them. We added butterscotch and chocolate chips to make them a little more exciting. We also substituted royal jelly instead of honey. These would also be good with a lot of other mix-ins such as chocolate syrup, cranberries, etc. We used a cookie baller to get a consistent shape and baked for 14 minutes. The first dozen flew off of the cooling racks. We'll certainly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
For a crisper, nuttier oatmeal cookie without any butter or sugar:- toast one and a half cups of oatmeal in half a cup of canola oil, allow to cool. Combine one a half cups of flour, a large pinch of baking soda, one teaspoon of cinnamon, one teaspoon of sea salt. Mix in two beaten eggs and one cup of honey, then mix in the cooled toasted oats. Place in teaspoon sized balls on an oiled baking sheet, flatten with a fork and bake at 400 degrees for 10 to 11 minutes until they are just beginning to turn golden brown. Allow to cook on a wire rack and store in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States