Honey Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This cookie has a cakey texture that my family likes. The honey flavor really comes through also. Next time I'm going to add a little cardamom and some plumpled raisins to give them a little more texture. Very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin
Living In: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
These are very good! I used a half cup of oil instead of the shortening which worked very well. I omitted the vanilla and these turned out lightly sweet with a nice honey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This is a nice and simple cookie. After reading the reviews I was prepared for a cookie with just a hint of sweetness but I was surprised. I thought it was sweet enough. I prepared it exactly like the recipe was written but I do feel it could use some spicing up. It would have been better with some sort of dried fruit like raisins or maybe some nuts added to it. I might try it again with some fruit and nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Delicious. More cake-like than cookie, but still great. I have a son who can't have refined sugar, but honey is okay. So I'm so glad to find a cookie recipe for him that doesn't use Splenda and still satisfies his sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
These were pretty good. Even better straight out of the oven, and as one person said "a great tea cookie". The texture is a bit like a scone, with a slight floury taste. You can definately taste the honey though. I used only 3/4 cup honey and about 4 or 5 packets of Splenda sweetener. I substituted 3/4 cup Smart Balance buttery spread for the shortening and did add about 1/3 cup more of flower. Could have used about a teaspoon of salt. I baked it at 325 F. for about 15 mins, lightly sprayed some Pam on aluminum cookie sheet and they came right off. Thanks for the recipe, i know i will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
You will absolutely love these cookies if you are a health nut, or if you have a cookie-obsessed toddler and are trying to cut down on their sugar intake. I wouldn't serve these to a non-dieting adult and call them cookies. But, if you don't expect them to be sweet, the texture is great. They're like oatmeal cake. I will definitely be using this recipe (but not for ME hehe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Hm... not a bad base, but not very good if you stick to just the recipe. They are not "flaky" more "chewy." The texture is VERY good, and they look beautiful. However, they are not very sweet... they might make a good breakfast snack. I added a 1/2 cup of walnuts, 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 ground cloves. The added spices did not make much difference, but the walnuts did. They seem to need more sweetness, but 1 c of honey is already alot. For the record, I used shortening + water as in the recipe and not butter. A few things - these cookies rise UP and not OUT very much. The recipe definitely makes 3 dozen, not 30. Be sure to definitely drop them in rounded teaspoons on the cookie sheet - I tried a few larger ones, and they definitely did not turn out as well (the outside will burn if you make larger ones). Bake at 325, not 350. 13-14 minutes for each batch did it for me. I think I'll keep working with this recipe, as the texture was definitely what I was looking for. But it does need "something." I might try a little brown sugar next time. I also think they'll be a lot better with butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
We love the cookie we used butter instead of shortening,also we used 2 cups honey and 2 cups flour no vanilla. baked at 350 for 10min then cooled one min. and put on cooling rack. Next i will try with nuts or chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denver n Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used butter instead of the shortning adn then i added another half of cup of flour and they turned out great not to sweet not too bland and not too dry I love them and so does my daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Yummy, for a cookie-beginnner it is really easy and I love the taste. A little more honey next time, to sweeten the cookies ....but I love to know that I have a healthy and great tasting cookie. I mixed a bit of chocolate powder in it as well....next time will mix raisins into it as well...YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Basel, Basel, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States