Honey Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
3 1/2 stars is more accurate. better than a 3, but not really a 4. better than many oatmeal cookies, & was hoping for a sweeter taste. will bake them again! & will 'play' w/ the recipe to fit my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I used much advice I found throughout. Adjustments as follows: I used only 3/4 honey, 1/2 raisins, 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 3/4 butter instead of shortening and 1/4 apple juice instead of water. Did bake them on 325, instead of 350. I did take the advice too to let the batter sit, when all mixed, in order for the oats to soak up the liquid. Wished I had the wheat flour, but I want to use up all of my white first. I've never tasted such a bland cookie. I will always have to put sugar in my cookies....much like a cakkie, lol and a bisquit. But the boys have apeased me and said, "they're ok"...little do they know! I will like them for breakfast and milk is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlavorLover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Often I take these recipes as a backbone for experimentation. I did a lot of swapping on this one for fun. 1/4 cup molasses, 2 Tbsp honey, 1/4 cup water, and the rest white sugar to fill 1 cup of sweet, thick sugariness. I think this version would be called Molasses Surprise. I also omitted the vanilla and did 2 cups oats, and 2 cups white flour. The shortening was a little lumpy, no fault of the original recipe mind you. My results: Disaster haha. The first batch of cookies maintained no form at all. The remaining batter I added more flour to thicken the next batch. Okay, I scraped off the pan, discarded the first batch. Added 2/3 cup flour and thickened the batter a bit. The new batch looks good. I would suggest cutting the flour and shortening together, it failed to blend well with the liquids and remained shunky until the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I can sum this recipe up in one word-disaster.I followed advice from other reviews and they were still bad. It's safe to say that I will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is such a great tasting oatmeal recipe. I did make quite a few adjustments based on the reviews. Here is what I did and they turned out PERFECT & so flavorful! I replaced the shortening with 3/4 cup butter. Added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. ground cloves, 1/4 cup brown sugar, and a pinch of salt to the dry ingredients. I also added 3/4 cup raisins & 3/4 cup chopped walnuts. I baked them at 325 for 20 min. and they were just slightly golden brown on the bottom. I was also using Pampered Chef stoneware to bake on. I will definitely use this recipe many many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I loved these cookies. I did add just a shake of sugar to give it a little extra sweetness. Other than that, yummy. I just adored the taste of the honey in with the oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patriot, Ohio, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
These are amazing! I made them for my friend who has limited things he can eat (can't have flour, milk or wheat!) and so I used rice flour instead. They are a lovely, cake-y type cookie that goes great with coffee or tea :) My friend LOVED them. In fact, hiw wife "stole" the recipe from me and has made them 3 times in the past month! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3Loves2Bake<3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Not bad tasting, and very easy. I substituted raw honey, i can't believe it's not butter, whole wheat flour, and egg beaters and it still turned out lovely. I did add a little cinnamon, and to the second and third batches added some dried cherries and dark choco chips. I would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I love the smell of honey in my house while baking this, oh-so-sweet! I added some cocoa powder and some melted chocolate, and hello honey chocolate cookies! love them! Not too sweet, not too crunchy... and they looked pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I absolutely loved it! Excactly what I was looking for. I did change the recipe a little after reading the reviews. I added a total of 1 1/2 cups of honey. 2 cups of flour. Butter instead of shortening. Rice milk instead of water (Though I may leave it out altogether next time). And added 1/4 teaspoon cloves, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tsp salt Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States