Honey Oatmeal Chewies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
These were really good and chewy, just like the name says. I omitted the coconut though since I didn't have any, but I think they'd even be better with coconut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Loved it! I didn't have butter flavored shortening so I used 1 cup regular and then 1/4 cup stick of butter (margarine). I didn't have dates. I used butterscotch chips and pecans. I know oatmeal cookies are usually flat so I don't punish this recipe for that. I was looking for chewy and these do the trick! If I could only find a fat, chewy oatmeal cookie I'd be happy! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Deeelicious! I used all butter, chocolate chips instead of the fruit and nuts, and subbed 1/4 c ground flaxmeal for 1/4 c of the flour. Got to love hidden goodness. These will be a new favorite cookie in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Did I miss where the egg was added? I beat egg and added same time as milk. I substituted half the flour w/ whole wheat flour, and instead of shortening, used 1/2 c. butter and 3/4 c. coconut oil. Also, I used sucanat instead of white sugar. Creaming the shortening/sugar doesn't quite come out the same, but the cookies were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
OMG! When the man in the house says 'keep that recipe' - it's a top 5 keeper! Fabulously easy; I baked them 11 to a sheet - 4 on the outside and 3 up the middle - giving them a bit of room to spread. Used a basic cookie scoop and packed them a smidge generous. Baked them 13 minutes per tray - and I put the upper rack 'up' a level. Came out chewy, not crisp (and I think these would be good crisp, too). I used dates and pecans as listed, but I'm positive that chocolate chips would be good as well. I'm putting this one in the holiday rotation this December. I expect my mom will be looking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Great Cookie! I substituted chocolate chips for the raisins and left out the nuts. Cookies have a nice chewy texture and the coconut adds nice flavor. I think this would be a GREAT bake Sale cookie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Kids loved this - a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Sorry but I thought these were very bland. I wouldn't make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
This makes a great cookie - my husband asked for another batch and it's hard to find a recipe he likes better than his mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
Really excellent cookie!!ALL of my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States