Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This recipe is fantastic; I swapped half the bread flour for wheat flour and added an extra 1/2 tsp of yeast--the result was a gorgeous bread that's pleasantly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Nice loaf, very tasty. Next time I will skip the final brushing with honey. It leaves the loaf sticky. I will sprinkle a handful of oats on top of an egg or milk wash just before baking. This is good with a mixed grain type of rolled grain hot cereal mix, instead of just oatmeal. Substitute one cup of whole wheat flour for one of the white flour, too. More fiber/flavor. Also, I cooked the rolled grain cereal with potato water (water saved from boiling potatoes for mashing)so whatever vitamins and minerals are boiled out of the potatoes are now in the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This recipe produces excellent bread with a few changes! As some other reviewer I also found that with the fluid-flour ratio as stated in the recipe the dough turns out very sticky... I needed to use 3 more cups of flour in oder to get a workable dough. Also I used half wholemeal half plain bread flour and it tastes great. Definitely worth the 4 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I don't know if my dough had issues because it's been raining for a week nonstop and the humidity is a b***h. I followed the recipe exact and it was super sticky. Even with about a 1/4 c. added flour. I couldn't stop eating the dough, though. Good stuff. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer from start to finish. Let the dough rise in my huge metal bowl then transferred it to two greased loaf pans and let it rise again. Smells unbelieveable--taste is incredible. EDITED: Grandma tells me that the wetness of the dough is to be expected with an oatmeal based bread. The taste and texture of this bread is unbelieveable. So wonderful. This one's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Nice light loaf, although dough was quite sticky. Baked them in a smaller pan for a higher loaf. Won a blue ribbon at a county fair on this, will be entering it in the state fair, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This recipe produces a great loaf of bread. It's nice and light with just a hint of sweetness. The only thing was that I had to add a couple more cups of flour as the dough was too sticky. My relatives are begging me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cohasset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Excellent bread. I did add an additional cup of flour and some more while kneading. I am a novice bread maker and this is a great first time recipe. Easy, simple and tasty! 5 stars & beyond!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
My husband said this was the best bread he has ever eaten. I also took it to a class I teach at night and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I did not have bread flour so I used all purpose. also I had to add about an extra 3/4 cup of flour, but it was perfect after that. Will make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Super fantastic! I followed others suggestions and added about 1 extra cup of flour (I only had all purpose) and one extra packet of yeast. Very delicious! The whole family is raving; I took it out of the oven half an hour ago and we have already finished a loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceyrichards

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Meh. I had a very different take on this recipe from most. Incorporating the suggestions of many reviewers, I used half whole wheat and half bread flour. The bread was good, not great, certainly nothing that rocked my world. It was moist and the flavor was OK. However, I'd suggest that the last 1/2 cup of water is unnecessary and contributes to a very sticky dough. Even after adding another 3/4 cup flour to try to give the dough some body, it was still soft. I went ahead with it, which I now know I shouldn't have done. There wasn't sufficient structure to support the loaf when it rose (I did not experience the problems others reported of the dough not rising.) It looked gorgeous, nice and high. But as soon as the heating element kicked on in the bread machine, POOF! it all deflated. The result was a relatively flat loaf - the outsides were higher than the middle, which was less than attractive. That aside, as I said, the flavor was still reasonably good, and let's face it: homemade bread, even so-so homemade bread, still tastes wonderful when fresh. I suspect that if I had left out the later addition of water, the results would be a lot lighter and higher. Because of the extra pain-in-the-butt step to allow the oats to steep for an hour, this is just too fussy a recipe for me to want to try again. I'm going to cut my losses on this one and move on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States