Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
AMAZING! Very delicious & excellent texture although I think I may have just gotten lucky. I didn't realize I was out of bread flour & already started soaking the oatmeal so decided to forge ahead. Super glad I did but I have to admit I was very doubtful throughout the entire process all the way up to my first taste. Outside of my unplanned change to All-Purpose Flour, I followed the recipe EXACTLY (including the oats soaking in 2 cups of water for an hour) up to the kneading part. And, although the dough was more like a really thick batter, I did not add additional flour or change the ingredients whatsoever. However, I could not knead the dough as it never came together despite letting it mix in the stand up mixer for 10 minutes. So, I just threw on the dough hook & with the mixer on med-high, let it knead the dough for 20 mins. Then I POURED the dough/batter into the oiled bowl and, convinced I'd just wasted an hour and a half, covered with a warm towel to rise. I couldn't believe my eyes when an hour later I came back & it was pushing the towel up over the top of the bowl! The towel had stuck just a little which is normally no big deal but being that the dough was so batter-like, when I pulled it off the dough sank like a deflated balloon. Hmm. I ended up once again POURING the dough into the loaf pans & it rose perfectly again! It jiggled a lot when I was carrying it to the oven but when it came out it looked gorgeous! The texture is divine & it tastes delectable!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I love everything about this bread. The texture, chew, and especially the sweet honey flavor in this bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Those that are having to add more flour are NOT letting the oatmeal sit in the 2 cups of hot water for an hour. If you follow directions EXACTLY as this recipe is written then you will not need to do this. This is an excellent bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imachampion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This recipe more than lives up to the reviews. I halved the recipe and added some spelt flour along with a cup of white flour and enough whole wheat to make the dough firm. I also threw in a handful of bulgur wheat and a mystery grain (possibly barley) from my cupboard. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
The taste is 5 star...but every time I make this it never rises like I want it to. I make plenty of different types of bread and this is the only one I have trouble with rising. I tried letting it rise longer-tried different pans... I just can't get that big beautiful dome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
My daughter and I had a great time making this bread together and it turned out perfectly. I used steel cut oats and slightly more flour than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was so delicious! My family loved it. It was great toasted with peanut butter the next day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganKalene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This bread has the most amazing texture because of the oats. It's also quite sweet and has a strong honey flavour, so it's excellent served with butter or peanut butter, but not cheese. I've also made it with 1/4 cup of honey instead of 1/2 cup, and it was still sweet, but with less honey flavour. I don't put the honey/oatmeal topping on it. Instead, I wet the tops of the loaves and sprinkle oatmeal on them before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
We just love this in our house, had to make some for the neighbors for helping to shovel out the driveway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
After a second attempt, 4 stars for the flavor and texture - great bread. The first time around, I followed the recipes exactly and the dough turned out very wet and sticky - impossible to knead and after baking, the bread was still wet. The second time around, I halved the amount of water and everything turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States