Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This turned out amazing the first time although like many others, I had to increase the flour - by two cups. I doubled the yeast after reading the reviews. I also used half wheat and half bread flour. I substituted an egg wash for the topping. The honey measure was perfect, in the background, and not too sweet. This morning, I was wondering what sort of jam I should get to compliment this wonderful bread when toasted but I discovered, to my delight, that plain old butter was all I needed for a perfect light breakfast! Goodbye store bought bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I really wish I would have checked the other reviews before I made this bread and saved myself some time. I also wound up adding over 2 cups of extra flour to deal with the sticky dough. Once that problem was solved everything went as planned and I ended up with gorgeous and amazingly delicious bread. I will make this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Awesome. Added 1/2 cup bran, used half atta, 2-1/2 tsp yeast. Bread was nice and light, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kincardine, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This bread is delicious! The 4 of us in our family ate 1/2 of the first loaf while it was still warm out of the oven. I needed to add about 2 extra cups of bread flour because the dough is sticky. I recommend using something other than warm honey to stick the post baking oats to the top of each loaf, though. The brushed-on warm honey will remain sticky and makes handling and storing the loaves difficult. I'll apply egg wash and oats just prior to baking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I just pulled the loaves out of the oven. they look great! In regards to the stickiness issue it wasn't an issue for me. You definitely need to soak the oats for the entire hour. Also if your having problems with it maybe you don't have the right oats, real rolled oats are a lot more absorbent than quick cooking or steel cut. I get mine from the health food store for about $2 a pound. I only used 1/4C of honey since I'm trying to get more of an all purpose bread and didn't want it too sweet. I also used wheat flour instead of bread flour, doubled the yeast (because of the change in flour density), and added two tbl. of golden flax seeds (whole) to the oats when steeping. They smell so good! I should have waited to write this until after dinner but I was too excited! UPDATE: Tastes as good as it smelled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made this for a pre-Christmas treat and my family loved it. It was so cake-like and delicate. Yum! (I didn't brush the top with honey after baking because I didn't want it to be sticky.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaynef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This recipe is easy and good in taste. This is the first trial and I' m definitely will try again in the nearest future. I modified it with adding some almonds and dried grapes. Its much chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
While this version is good, I'm partial to the version we've been making for years, which includes molasses, wheat germ, and a variety of seeds (e.g., sesame, poppy, flax, others).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jake7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Substituted 1/2 of the flour for whole wheat flour, and did have to add a significant amount of additional flour to get to a kneadable consistency. Otherwise, absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Heavenly! My family loved this bread. I did skip the final brushing of honey. I will be making this bread often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States