Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I had great luck with this recipe - I made sure to soak the oats in the hot water/honey/butter liquid for the full hour and didn't find the dough too sticky at all. The only changes I made were that I split the called for flour to 2c. white and 2c. whole wheat, used from other suggestions I used 2 packets of traditional yeast which i proofed in hot water with sugar in it first. To make the wash, i used 1 egg and 1 tbsp of honey, and did a quick reapply 5 mins before the end of cooking to add some oat flakes to the top. Would defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This bread is absolutely amazing. I told my husband we were not allowed to eat one whole loaf the first night, but it was really hard for us to restrain ourselves... I swapped in 1 c of whole wheat flour and it was still fluffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This is my all time favorite oatmeal bread recipe. It didn't get five stars from me because the honey is overpowering in the original recipe as is. I've cut back the amount of honey to one tablespoon in the dough and didn't miss it. I've used the dough to make rolls and crusts for other recipes. I've made variations on this recipe dozens of times. It's a good bread for making croutons or bread crumbs, but I've found it doesn't hold up well in puddings and pain perdu. I think it's the extra moisture from the oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by renee12321
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
The dough is sticky, but dang it's good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Delicious! And easy too. It takes a long time, but it's mostly just waiting-around time, so perfect for a Sunday around the house. I followed the recipe exactly and had no problems. The dough was sticky, but that seems like a common occurrence - I kept flowering the dough and the board while kneading until it was no longer sticky. Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This turned out amazing the first time although like many others, I had to increase the flour - by two cups. I doubled the yeast after reading the reviews. I also used half wheat and half bread flour. I substituted an egg wash for the topping. The honey measure was perfect, in the background, and not too sweet. This morning, I was wondering what sort of jam I should get to compliment this wonderful bread when toasted but I discovered, to my delight, that plain old butter was all I needed for a perfect light breakfast! Goodbye store bought bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I really wish I would have checked the other reviews before I made this bread and saved myself some time. I also wound up adding over 2 cups of extra flour to deal with the sticky dough. Once that problem was solved everything went as planned and I ended up with gorgeous and amazingly delicious bread. I will make this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Awesome. Added 1/2 cup bran, used half atta, 2-1/2 tsp yeast. Bread was nice and light, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kincardine, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This bread is delicious! The 4 of us in our family ate 1/2 of the first loaf while it was still warm out of the oven. I needed to add about 2 extra cups of bread flour because the dough is sticky. I recommend using something other than warm honey to stick the post baking oats to the top of each loaf, though. The brushed-on warm honey will remain sticky and makes handling and storing the loaves difficult. I'll apply egg wash and oats just prior to baking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I just pulled the loaves out of the oven. they look great! In regards to the stickiness issue it wasn't an issue for me. You definitely need to soak the oats for the entire hour. Also if your having problems with it maybe you don't have the right oats, real rolled oats are a lot more absorbent than quick cooking or steel cut. I get mine from the health food store for about $2 a pound. I only used 1/4C of honey since I'm trying to get more of an all purpose bread and didn't want it too sweet. I also used wheat flour instead of bread flour, doubled the yeast (because of the change in flour density), and added two tbl. of golden flax seeds (whole) to the oats when steeping. They smell so good! I should have waited to write this until after dinner but I was too excited! UPDATE: Tastes as good as it smelled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States