Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Thanks for sharing the recipe! I love how the bread turns out, plesantly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I've tried this recipe twice, the second time with better results. I added 1/2 to 1/3c extra oatmeal and 1-1/4c extra flour. This recipe is really forgiving. As long as you let it rise, you're good to go. I found that my dough rose pretty slow. It's a delicious bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prudence Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I just made my first of MANY loaves of this scrumptious bread. The taste, moistness & texture of this bread are some of the reasons to make home made bread. I too had to add quite a bit of additional flour while kneading. Liked the way the oatmeal looks on top. Sublime right out of oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Wonderful flavor! I eat a slice for a snack, and that has never happened with any other bread in my entire life! I added 1 1/2 cups raisins and 1 cup walnuts, and it makes super toast. Due to so many comments about stickiness, I added 1 cup whole wheat flour + 1 Tbsp. gluten because of the whole wheat, and had almost 3/4 cup of flour left over. Now I'm wondering if the left over flour was because (for the first time in my life) I used BREAD flour instead of all purpose. So next time I'll do it exactly as written, measurement wise, with the only change being BREAD flour instead of all purpose and no added whole wheat to see if BREAD flour makes that much difference. There is probably a reason that bread recipes call for bread flour, but I've never used it before. Stay tuned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
The only thing I did not like about this bread was the honey brushed on top. It made the top crust sticky and a bit tough. Otherwise, this makes a very nice loaf with good flavor and texture. As other reviewers mentioned, I added an extra cup of flour. The dough was still a little sticky, but baked up nicely..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
A sticky dough, but so delicious that it is well worth dealing with that and the long process. My favorite anytime I have time to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Used 1/2 honey and 1/2 molasses....oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Great Recipe. I used 2 cups of whole wheat and 2 cups of unbleached bread flours and turned out great Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time yesterday. Dough was alittle sticky whenever you first knead it and even after the second rise but it is worth the irritation! I added flour to help but really with the oatmeal and honey it is going to soft and alittle sticky. BUT after you bake it (I didn't add the glaze of honey, I ran out of honey) it is so soft and delicious, only slightly sweet. My boyfriend and have used it to eat sandwiches and toast both uses were delightful. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States