Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I just pulled the loaves out of the oven. they look great! In regards to the stickiness issue it wasn't an issue for me. You definitely need to soak the oats for the entire hour. Also if your having problems with it maybe you don't have the right oats, real rolled oats are a lot more absorbent than quick cooking or steel cut. I get mine from the health food store for about $2 a pound. I only used 1/4C of honey since I'm trying to get more of an all purpose bread and didn't want it too sweet. I also used wheat flour instead of bread flour, doubled the yeast (because of the change in flour density), and added two tbl. of golden flax seeds (whole) to the oats when steeping. They smell so good! I should have waited to write this until after dinner but I was too excited! UPDATE: Tastes as good as it smelled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made this for a pre-Christmas treat and my family loved it. It was so cake-like and delicate. Yum! (I didn't brush the top with honey after baking because I didn't want it to be sticky.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaynef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This recipe is easy and good in taste. This is the first trial and I' m definitely will try again in the nearest future. I modified it with adding some almonds and dried grapes. Its much chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
While this version is good, I'm partial to the version we've been making for years, which includes molasses, wheat germ, and a variety of seeds (e.g., sesame, poppy, flax, others).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jake7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Substituted 1/2 of the flour for whole wheat flour, and did have to add a significant amount of additional flour to get to a kneadable consistency. Otherwise, absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Heavenly! My family loved this bread. I did skip the final brushing of honey. I will be making this bread often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This bread is amazing! However, the bread needed almost 2 extra cups of flour to make a manageable dough. Though it took almost four hours to make the bread, most of the time was just letting it rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Added Flax seed! One third cup whole flax seeds to the hot water mix hoping it would dissolve a little to let out the nutrients since I didn't have a grinder and I used half wheat and half white flour. I like braided bread so I baked a regular loaf and one braided. Voila! Best bread ever. Love trying new recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
By far, the best bread ever. I've made this recipe several times and always need an extra cup to cup & 1/4 of bread flour. Moist, slightly sweet and delicious. Also wonderful toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I am new to bread baking and have been adding an uncertain amount of flour to make it more workable. The results are always delish! The next time I will follow the recipe as written. I'll bet that it will be even more wonderful with a more concentrated honey flavor. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yella

Displaying results 21-30 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States