Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I just made my first of MANY loaves of this scrumptious bread. The taste, moistness & texture of this bread are some of the reasons to make home made bread. I too had to add quite a bit of additional flour while kneading. Liked the way the oatmeal looks on top. Sublime right out of oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Wonderful flavor! I eat a slice for a snack, and that has never happened with any other bread in my entire life! I added 1 1/2 cups raisins and 1 cup walnuts, and it makes super toast. Due to so many comments about stickiness, I added 1 cup whole wheat flour + 1 Tbsp. gluten because of the whole wheat, and had almost 3/4 cup of flour left over. Now I'm wondering if the left over flour was because (for the first time in my life) I used BREAD flour instead of all purpose. So next time I'll do it exactly as written, measurement wise, with the only change being BREAD flour instead of all purpose and no added whole wheat to see if BREAD flour makes that much difference. There is probably a reason that bread recipes call for bread flour, but I've never used it before. Stay tuned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
The only thing I did not like about this bread was the honey brushed on top. It made the top crust sticky and a bit tough. Otherwise, this makes a very nice loaf with good flavor and texture. As other reviewers mentioned, I added an extra cup of flour. The dough was still a little sticky, but baked up nicely..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Used 1/2 honey and 1/2 molasses....oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Great Recipe. I used 2 cups of whole wheat and 2 cups of unbleached bread flours and turned out great Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time yesterday. Dough was alittle sticky whenever you first knead it and even after the second rise but it is worth the irritation! I added flour to help but really with the oatmeal and honey it is going to soft and alittle sticky. BUT after you bake it (I didn't add the glaze of honey, I ran out of honey) it is so soft and delicious, only slightly sweet. My boyfriend and have used it to eat sandwiches and toast both uses were delightful. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Best bread ever! Was amazing for dinner hot out of the oven and even better toasted the next morning (what was left :)...Also a perfect texture for sandwiches. I had no honey on hand so I used molasses. It gave the bread a beautiful color. Definitely saved to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reneeap
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I make this bread probably once a month with a homemade soup. My family of six think this recipe makes the best homemade bread they have ever tasted. And we have used plenty of recipes in the past. I definitely recommend sticking to bread flour for sturdiness since the loaves are so moist. And the suggested 4 cups has never been enough. I would say that I easily use between 5 to 6 cups of flour total, counting the flour to dust my counter with. Even after dough rises, you MUST use extra flour for dusting. But it is well worth it, as it will produce two outstanding loaves of moist bread that everyone will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Are you KIDDING me? I have never made bread before. NEVER. I tried this recipe and it turned out PERFECTLY - amazing flavor, perfect texture and perfectly moist. I'm going to start giving these to all my enemies - no way haters are gonna hate after they get a loaf'a dis! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I had great luck with this recipe - I made sure to soak the oats in the hot water/honey/butter liquid for the full hour and didn't find the dough too sticky at all. The only changes I made were that I split the called for flour to 2c. white and 2c. whole wheat, used from other suggestions I used 2 packets of traditional yeast which i proofed in hot water with sugar in it first. To make the wash, i used 1 egg and 1 tbsp of honey, and did a quick reapply 5 mins before the end of cooking to add some oat flakes to the top. Would defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States