Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This recipe is definitely a keeper. I adjusted the servings for one loaf and followed the advice of a reviewer to let the oatmeal soak for the whole hour. My dough did not turn out wet and sticky. The only issue was that it rose a little lopsided, but that was probably because I put in my warm oven. Because the floor is even my baked goods tend to follow the dip in the floor. No matter, the bread was delicious - warm, soft, slightly sweet. My white bread fanatic husband inhaled half the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is perfection. I love this bread exactly as it is, and no matter what I do to it to mess it up (I'm forgetful), it still comes out amazing. This is the bread that I use to impress people when I go to their house. Actually, I must say that I have only used AP flour, since I never have bread flour. It's still great. Also, this last time I used 1/4 ww flour, and it was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I had to almost double the floor to get a workable consistency, but out was a HUGE hit. Making another batch right now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Queen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Thanks for sharing the recipe! I love how the bread turns out, plesantly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I've tried this recipe twice, the second time with better results. I added 1/2 to 1/3c extra oatmeal and 1-1/4c extra flour. This recipe is really forgiving. As long as you let it rise, you're good to go. I found that my dough rose pretty slow. It's a delicious bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prudence Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I just made my first of MANY loaves of this scrumptious bread. The taste, moistness & texture of this bread are some of the reasons to make home made bread. I too had to add quite a bit of additional flour while kneading. Liked the way the oatmeal looks on top. Sublime right out of oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Wonderful flavor! I eat a slice for a snack, and that has never happened with any other bread in my entire life! I added 1 1/2 cups raisins and 1 cup walnuts, and it makes super toast. Due to so many comments about stickiness, I added 1 cup whole wheat flour + 1 Tbsp. gluten because of the whole wheat, and had almost 3/4 cup of flour left over. Now I'm wondering if the left over flour was because (for the first time in my life) I used BREAD flour instead of all purpose. So next time I'll do it exactly as written, measurement wise, with the only change being BREAD flour instead of all purpose and no added whole wheat to see if BREAD flour makes that much difference. There is probably a reason that bread recipes call for bread flour, but I've never used it before. Stay tuned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
The only thing I did not like about this bread was the honey brushed on top. It made the top crust sticky and a bit tough. Otherwise, this makes a very nice loaf with good flavor and texture. As other reviewers mentioned, I added an extra cup of flour. The dough was still a little sticky, but baked up nicely..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Used 1/2 honey and 1/2 molasses....oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States