Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Fantastic flavor - I'm a beginner at this, but after only trying a few other recipes, I know I'll be returning to this one. BUT... honey topping has to go! I'm serving this bread to toddlers, and it's a mess. BTW... toddlers love the bread too! Otherwise, like so many others here, I had to add quite a lot of flour to get the dough the right consistency. But... flavor of this bread is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
OMG! This is such a good simple recipe. First time that I ever bake bread and I was very pleased with the outcome. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oyuki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I am a novice at bread baking so my first attempt at this recipe was not successful. My dough would not rise, and the end result was a really dense/yeasty tasting mess. After reading some helpful hints on this site, I attempted again and was really pleased with the outcome. Not only did it look beautiful, but it sliced great and was really enjoyable toasted with alittle butter. Thanks for an easy recipe and a great learning experience. I will bake this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I substituted whole wheat flour for 1/2 the bread flour and added 1/4 cup each of flax seed and sunflower seeds. It did require more flour than called for in the recipe. I let my Kitchen Aide do the kneading for me. It rose beautifully and it tastes great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very enjoyable...it wasn't as light as I'd read in some reviews, however I did follow the suggestions of some other reviewers and use half whole wheat flour and half bread flour. Wonderful texture for sandwiches or toasting. EXCELLENT taste! The honey/oat topping was very good, and not sticky as some had described since I gave it enough time to cool before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I added a cup of flour and an extra packet of yeast, per some suggestions. The texture of this bread is gorgeous, just lovely. It needs a little more salt, IMO, to balance the sweet honey. That is easily rectified and I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This bread rocks! Very good. As suggested, I did add additional flour but added it while I was kneading it. Omitted the honey and oats topping and instead brushed on melted butter and sprinkled oats on top. Made chicken salad sandwiches with the bread for dinner and my three year old even ate all her crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarra Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
very nice bread good crumb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penorcas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Mis
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I really love this bread! It is perfect as is. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Mis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reedsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Good stuff! I followed the recipe as written and it came out perfect. Makes delicious french toast if you can keep it long enough (it was tempting to eat it all straight out of the oven). Thanks for this one - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States