Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Turned out great! As many other people already mentioned before, the 1/2 cup of water may not of been necessary because I ended up adding a LOT of flour while kneading as the dough was so soft. I also suggest putting the bread in three pans instead of two as mine ended up being too big and not cooking throughly. I also put the honey and oats on top of the bread before cooking it so the oats were golden and crispy. Overall, really loved the recipe and even my little brother who is usually very picky liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
We really liked this bread. It's dense without being heavy, has a nice soft texture, and a slight sweetness that makes it great for breakfast toast. Like other reviewers, I did a half whole wheat and half white flour mixture, and like other reviewers, I needed to add 2-3 cups more flour to make it come together (this is why I gave it four stars). Even so it rose well, baked well, and stayed fresh and soft for the three days it took us to eat it all. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie C.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Zionsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Calliopemonkey
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Made this exactly except subbed 1/2 flour with whole wheat. SOOOOO GOOD!! I like to make huge batches of breads and freeze them for my family instead of store bought bread. The honey wheat recipe I've been using didn't turn out so well last time so I tried this one. It's my new favorite! My 3 year old keeps asking for another piece. I tripled the recipe and it made 4 perfect loaves in my 12x4.5" Wilton loaf pans. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I've had better bread. I really wanted to like it, but I have to say it's just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Despite adding tons more flour to thicken up the dough, my loaves still came out deflated and doughy. Huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
EXCELLENT! Mixed the dough in my bread machine (had to add extra flour). Made into 20 rolls. Baked at 350 for 20 mins. Have made this recipe many times so far and passed the recipe onto my sister. They also love them. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Wish I had read the reviews before trying this recipe. Being very new to baking bread I thought something was majorly wrong when the dough came out live a thick mush (made me think of Oliver Twist asking for more gruel), and I had followed the instructions exactly, placing the oats, etc. in the boiling water, letting it sit for an hour, etc. Fortunately, having had success with Amish White bread, I had an idea what the dough would look like if I wanted to knead it. (Almost said needed to knead it, but decided a groaner might not be needed). I added about a 1/2 cup of flour at a time until the dough was workable (ended up adding about 2 cups). I did not add the honey oats to the top (consider that an unnecessary garnish). It turned out great! My wife loved it and said I can give up the Amish Bread, though I doubt I will, both are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
There is way too much water for four cups of flour and it's too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Great recipe! I made a few modifications (halved the honey; replaced one cup of flour with whole wheat flour and added half a teaspoon of yeast like the others did; and added walnut and raisins) and it still turned out well. Crusty outside and moist inside. I mixed on high speed for about 10-15 minutes and resisted to add any extra flour. The dough was very sticky at first but became more and more manageable as the mixing went on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Great flavor and texture! The loaves didn't even last the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States