Honey Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
made this for the first time yesterday, and it turned out brilliantly :)only change I made was to use a sachet of yeast, rather than active yeast, which I put into the oats after the hour along with the flour. after reading other reviews, I was expecting a really sticky dough, but maybe not having that extra 1/2 cup warm water made a difference? think I used about another 1/2 cup of flour at most to dust during the entire kneading process, and the dough was a delight to work with, nice and elastic and smooth. made one loaf and one plait, and the loaf was demolished by the family in minutes. the plait I had to threaten my hubby and kids with serious pain in order to get them to leave it alone for breakfast lol. will definitely make again, sooner rather than later, and would strongly recommend this recipe to anyone looking to try it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slough, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is one of our favorite bread recipes! We have to modify it slightly by adding more flour, totaling closer to 6 cups to get it to form, possibly due to the last addition of water and our elevation & humidity. I also don't brush the honey on and usually make one loaf into rolls or buns. This is a very good recipe, one I love making in my kitchenaid mixer and we all LOVE to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Loved this recipe. Not too difficult to make either. This was my first time making bread and I was a bit unsure of how it would all turn out. After 4 hours, it turned out just fine!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Wow! This bread is ah-mazing. I kneaded it by hand and because the original recipe has a really sticky dough, I ended up adding an extra 3-4 cups of bread flour until it was an easy to handle ball of dough. I didn't have rolled oats so I used quick cooking oats and let the oat and honey mixture sit for a little over an hour and it came out perfect. I am really amazed at how soft and moist this bread turned out as I was positive it would be chewy and dense because I added so much extra bread flour but it wasn't. It tastes kind of like a slightly sweetened sourdough bread. I will definitely be making this again and again! It is so easy and seems foolproof!! Thank you so much for this amazing recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This recipe is definitely a keeper. I adjusted the servings for one loaf and followed the advice of a reviewer to let the oatmeal soak for the whole hour. My dough did not turn out wet and sticky. The only issue was that it rose a little lopsided, but that was probably because I put in my warm oven. Because the floor is even my baked goods tend to follow the dip in the floor. No matter, the bread was delicious - warm, soft, slightly sweet. My white bread fanatic husband inhaled half the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is perfection. I love this bread exactly as it is, and no matter what I do to it to mess it up (I'm forgetful), it still comes out amazing. This is the bread that I use to impress people when I go to their house. Actually, I must say that I have only used AP flour, since I never have bread flour. It's still great. Also, this last time I used 1/4 ww flour, and it was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I had to almost double the floor to get a workable consistency, but out was a HUGE hit. Making another batch right now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Queen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Thanks for sharing the recipe! I love how the bread turns out, plesantly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I've tried this recipe twice, the second time with better results. I added 1/2 to 1/3c extra oatmeal and 1-1/4c extra flour. This recipe is really forgiving. As long as you let it rise, you're good to go. I found that my dough rose pretty slow. It's a delicious bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cajun asian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States