Honey Oatmeal Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I don't use a bread machine, so I let this rise for 1.5 hours first, then put it in a 9x5 pan and let it rise for another hour. I doctored it a bit, adding 1/8 c. gluten and 1/4 c. ground flax. I had to add a little more flour--about 1/2 c. The loaf rose perfectly, had an open, light crumb, and was slightly sweet. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Great bread, Frank! Thanks for sharing. I, like other reviewers found that the dough needed another 1/4 of flour. Because I like to make most bread recipes into dinner rolls, I also used 2 teaspoons of yeast. Great flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
My family really liked this bread - a more interesting flavor than plain whole wheat. I found the dough to be too sticky, so I added some extra flour - about 1/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Not only is this recipe easy, but it baked up perfectly in my bread machine. Great flavor and color - and very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Didn't rise enough, I was skeptical about the small amount of yeast called for and should have added a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sutterpants

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Fantastic healthy bread - I increased the loaf size to 2 lbs - so I added an extra 1/2 cup of bread flour - as well as adding 1 cup of raisins at the add-in stage of my machine. I also did not have multigrain on my machine and used the wheat settting instead - total baking time doing it this way is 3 hours and 55 minutes - you need to watch your machine when it is kneading and if necessary mix the items together with a rubber spatula - even though that forced me to restart again - it did no harm to the bread. Thank you Frank for a great recipe -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This is a great recipe! I too had to add about 1/4 C flour, and kneaded for about 5 minutes before letting it rise again. Good healthy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I thought this recipe was fantastic. I did add a few heaping TBSP's of flax seed meal and some vital wheat gluten.. This seems to give me moister and fluffier loaves. Very happy with this recipe and will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was the first time I have ever made bread and it came out perfect!! I love the flavor and it was so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I've been making this for months now - it's soft but not gummy and very tasty. Our go-to sandwich bread. One nitpick - the way the yeast ingredient is written is confusing - is it a quarter of a package, with the package being .25 ounces? If so, I have been using far more yeast - a full package worth. My neighbor claims this recipe didn't rise for her and perhaps it's because I'm adding more yeast. I also add 3 tsp wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States