Honey Oatmeal Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
The best honey oatmeal bread I have ever had. It just melts in your mouth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Delicious! Hearty and flavorful, without the sweet that some whole wheat breads have. I used all whole wheat flour. I subbed almond milk and oil, since I don't do dairy, and added 1/4 c. flour, flaxmeal and sunflower seeds. I might try adding some herbs or garlic next time. BTW, 1/4 oz. yeast is one package (2 1/4 tsp.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This recipie did not turn out for me. I used the wheat setting on my bread machine. The loaf fell in the middle and the crust was pretty hard. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Crowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I've been making this for months now - it's soft but not gummy and very tasty. Our go-to sandwich bread. One nitpick - the way the yeast ingredient is written is confusing - is it a quarter of a package, with the package being .25 ounces? If so, I have been using far more yeast - a full package worth. My neighbor claims this recipe didn't rise for her and perhaps it's because I'm adding more yeast. I also add 3 tsp wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather C
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This bread has good flavor but a few adjustments were needed. I had to add 1/4 cup extra flour and I increased the yeast to 2 tsp since the amount called for was too little and others said theirs came out too dense. It is a great bread but needed a little help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Yummy! I have really enjoyed this bread. I am new to making bread in my machine- so I not going to be able to give too much a technical review. My mother was wary of the small amount of yeast called for in this recipe, so we used a half of a packet of yeast, and proofed it with half of the water and a dollop of the honey. It worked well! The bread has a dense consistency, and is a good hearty breakfast food. Perfect for cheese toast!! You don't specifically notice the oatmeal or the wheat germ. This is a winner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I thought this recipe was fantastic. I did add a few heaping TBSP's of flax seed meal and some vital wheat gluten.. This seems to give me moister and fluffier loaves. Very happy with this recipe and will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This is a thick, dense loaf! I needed to add some extra flour to make the consistency right. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This bread is wonderful a great crunchy bread. I made it just like the recipe. Today I am going to add a few pumpkin seeds. Very healthful. My family loved it,great for toast and sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I attempted to make this recipe recently, and it did not rise. And it was really heavy and not appealing to eat at all. I'm not sure what I could have done wrong, but I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oishii86

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States