Honey Oat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I really like this recipe. I use 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and at least 2 tablespoons of honey as well. Also, I've tried it with both Sprite and Dr. Pepper instead of beer and results are sooooo delicious!!! You should definitely try it with other carbonated drinks to see what you like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This recipe was easy to make. I increased the brown sugar to 1 tablespoon. I think if I made it again I would add more honey as well. I also decreased the butter to 1/8 cup. One thing I like about beer bread is that it is low fat! So I didn't want to ruin that with heaps of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can Can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This was my first attempt at making beer bread without using a mix. My daughter and I both liked it very much, would recommend it. It did take longer to cook that the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I have been making this recipe for a while now, and I just got around to writing a review. It is a staple in our household, my husband eats a loaf in 1 day. It is hearty and flavorful, great for people who really enjoy the taste of beer. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charleycancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Shelton, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This bread was easy to put together and looked beautiful. Took about ten minutes longer to bake. No one cared for it because of the strong bitter taste from the beer.(Used Sam Adams).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I'm sorry. I'm always the one that feels bad for the bad ratings...also the one that ignores the lonely bad rating which mine likely will be, but this was AWFUL! The beer made it very bitter (I used the Sam's Honey Porter that an earlier reviewer raved about). Maybe a milder beer is in order. Still I found it not sweet enough. Beer breads I've tried in the past have had a more sweet "aftertaste". I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Like others have said, increase the brown sugar to at least 1 if not 2 tablespoons and the honey to 2 tablespoons as well... IMPORTANT NOTE: Don't use a "good" beer! Sam Adams was the worst bread I've ever had while Big Flats, Pabst, Bud Light etc were good. The nicer bottled beers (go for a CAN) actually don't taste as good, they overwhelm the bread. You really want just the carbonation and earthy beer flavor. Sounds counter intuitive but I've been making beer bread for a long time. Overall this is a great basic recipe for beer bread to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
YUM! I followed the previous reviews and added a tablespoon of brown sugar instead of the tsp it called for - and I used quick oats because its what I had on hand. It took quite a bit longer to cook than the recipe stated, but turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This bread is absolutly delicious. It is not too sweet and not too bland. The butter gives it a very rich taste. I even used cheap beer and it turned out great. This is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
VERY easy, and it turned out PERFECT. With honey in it, I thought it would be a sweet bread, but it's not. It was actually rather savory. Next time I'll add more honey or make some honey butter to spread on the slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States