Honey Oat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was terrible! I used Coors Light. Would give it less than 1 star if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very moist & flavorful. But I'm giving it 4 stars because it fell apart while slicing! The only change I made was to use 1 c. whole wheat flour & 1 c. unbleached bread flour, instead of 2 c. white flour. Will definitely bake this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This bread is great. I added a little extra brown sugar and honey, and used a sweet beer, and it is almost like cake! I also baked it in a size smaller breadpan at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes, I think this makes a moister bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Giving this one three stars for now, am planning to try it again, because it's faster than most beer breads and I like the idea of adding honey and oat. My son (age 15) made this one tonight, and I was busy doing other things, so I PRESUME he followed the recipe correctly. We used Guinness (because I can't stand drinking the stuff) and the bread was very dense, and a bit dry. The kids thought it was just ok, but with butter and honey, it's pretty tasty. As I said, will try it again but with a lighter beer, one that I actually enjoy. Probably going to toast up the rest of this loaf to serve with soup or some kind of dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marengo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This came out very good, but I did cook it for an extra 10 minutes. I didn't add any extra brown sugar or honey because I didn't want sweet bread, but I think it could've used it. Next time I will add an extra tablespoon of both honey and brown sugar. Great right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My children LOVE beer bread. The advantage of this recipe over some other is that this has oatmeal in it...so its a little more healthier. I have bought the packaged beer breads at various home parties before and they still are better than any of the non packaged recipes I have tried...but this is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa Neiding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Very good, except I would cook it longer. I used Sam Adams Summer Ale and it turned out very well. My parents who detest beer LOVED this bread! We ate it hot out of the oven with orange marmalade... I think I'll make a loaf tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I made this bread last night and I have to say this was very tasty. I brought it to work today and it was gone very quickly. We all just ate it plain, but I would like to try it with a slice of cheese melted on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
VERY easy, and it turned out PERFECT. With honey in it, I thought it would be a sweet bread, but it's not. It was actually rather savory. Next time I'll add more honey or make some honey butter to spread on the slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I have been making this recipe for a while now, and I just got around to writing a review. It is a staple in our household, my husband eats a loaf in 1 day. It is hearty and flavorful, great for people who really enjoy the taste of beer. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charleycancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Shelton, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States