Honey Oat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Like others have said, increase the brown sugar to at least 1 if not 2 tablespoons and the honey to 2 tablespoons as well... IMPORTANT NOTE: Don't use a "good" beer! Sam Adams was the worst bread I've ever had while Big Flats, Pabst, Bud Light etc were good. The nicer bottled beers (go for a CAN) actually don't taste as good, they overwhelm the bread. You really want just the carbonation and earthy beer flavor. Sounds counter intuitive but I've been making beer bread for a long time. Overall this is a great basic recipe for beer bread to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Delightful to my taste buds. Really good with soup or stew, particularly chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rollmeup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I had never tried beer bread and I liked this at 1st. But after a few bites, the after taste caught up and I didn't care for it. That's just me though. It had great texture and went really well with creamed chicken and peas poured over top which I had a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
really fun and easy to make...nice yeasty taste and chewy texture. I made beer rolls/muffins since I didn't have a loaf pan, but it came out great! tastes good with roasted apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Not bad, but a regular garden variety beer bread in my opinion. The oats add a bit more substance than I'm used to, but I don't think there is anything unique to reccomend it. I'd prefer some spices or maybe some more honey in this one. Still, it's not bad with butter or honey. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
really easy to make, and I loved that I had all the ingredients! I also added more honey and sugar, but I'm not sure that made much of a difference. So I also served it with honey on top, which seems the best solution if you want something even remotely sweet. I've never made a beer bread, and I'm not even sure whether I've eaten one before, so I don't know what to compare it to. It had a great texture, with a soft inside and almost crispy crust. I also cooked it about 10 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was ok. The packaged beer breads have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Fantastic. I've made lots of different beer breads but this is by far the best. FWIW I used a lite beer ("lite" = not worth drinking) and got a nice honey oat flavor in this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I loved this recipe! I did as others suggested: cooked about 10 minutes longer and used 1 tablespoon of brown sugar. I used a light pilsner and think it would be better with a darker beer. I also halved the butter on top to cut calories. I still thought it came out moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I have had better beer breads before. I was excited about the oats and the honey and brown sugar, thought it would be sweeter. I see now that one should definitely add additional brown sugar and honey for more of a flavor. And I used regular light beer, but still found it a little bitter. Will use other beer bread recipies in the future. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States