Honey Oat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
After 40 years of making beer bread I have found that the quality of the beer does make a difference. Using a beer like Budweiser or Bush is a better choice. Also don't use 'lite' beers. Using a strong full flavored beer will overpower the taste of the bread. I would increase the amount of brown sugar to 1 or 2 tablespoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I made this bread using organic wholemeal spelt flour, organic spelt oats, other organic ingredients and it was a definite winner...moist and delicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
My husband and I brew our own beer which I used instead of any store bought beer and it turned out great. The beer I used had almost a new england brown taste and the nutty flavor really came through. I might try a honey flavored beer or mead next time and cut the honey down or out completely. Definitely worth trying different beers with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Great quick bread used tablespoon of brown sugar and 2 tsp honey .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I ran my oats through the food processor before I used it for a finer consistancy. I used Pabst beer. I've learned that using a cheaper beer is really best for our family--we just like the flavor better. Besides, all I had was Pabst. Mine took fourty-five minutes to bake, I tented a piece of foil over the top so it wouldn't scorch on the top. This was good but mine turned out a little dry. I can't say that it was overbaking as I've made beer bread before. I think cutting back the flour or oats by a quarter cup or so and it would be just right. Everything else seemed spot on. GREAT with homemade chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I can't believe how much I liked this, especially considering how much I hate beer! My only problem with it would have to be that it didn't slice very well. Maybe I left it too long in the oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
30 minutes wasn't long enough, the color wasn't pleasing- but warm with a side dish of chili - marvelous- will cook at least 10 minutes longer next time and add more honey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clessard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Nice buttery aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Meh...not great but not terrible. Not as good as other beer bread I've made. This had a funny aftertaste, and I don't think it was due to the beer b/c I've made other beer bread with the same type and no weird aftertaste. I think I'll just stick to the traditional beer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I thought this bread was great! Quick, easy and tasty. I followed the recipe as written and used a Smirnoff Ice "beer" (passion fruit flavor) that someone left at my house after a party. I think this added a nice flavor and a hint of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States