Honey Nut Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Wow! I have made this granola 4 times since I found the recipe a few weeks ago. As soon as the family eats it up, I make more. I've changed it a bit each time, after reading all the reviews, and I think I've finally settled on my favorite: I use oats, sliced almonds and sunflower seeds (but no other nuts), whole flax seed, wheat germ (about 1/2 cup each)for added nutrition, plus coconut for sweetness. I up the oil and honey just a bit, plus add a bit of real maple syrup for flavor. I add a combo of regular and golden raisins, but only at the very end (otherwise they burn-yuck!). I bake it on parchment, on a lower temp (about 225) and stir often, every 7-10 minutes. I pulled it off to another pan to cool - trust me, this is a must! And then finally, since we like ours clumpy, as it was cooling, I pulled off bits and squeezed hunks together. I then mixed about half the still warm granola with about 1/3 cup powdered milk. It gave amazing flavor and texture to the finished product. This recipe is PHENOMENALLY good - and versatile and cheap. Wow, what's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Holy Cow. This is fabulous. I followed some other reviewer's advice and made some adjustments. I used about 3/4 of a cup of applesauce and just a splash of olive oil in place of the canola oil. I also increased the honey to 1 cup. I added probably 1/3 cup of crunchy peanut butter to the "oil" mix and added orange flavored crasins to soak while I mixed the dry ingredients. I think the only thing I added to the dry part was about 1/3 cup brown sugar. I baked it all at 275 for about 25 minutes. I took it out and stirred it every 7 minutes and then reset the timer for another 7 minutes when I was done, and I did that 3 times total plus I left it in for about 4 minutes at the end. I dumped both pans onto paper towels to cool before I stored it, and neither my husband or I could keep from grabbing handfuls of it while it sat there. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Delicious! Don't forget (like I did) to let the granola cool on paper towels; otherwise you'll be scrubbing the cookie sheet for a long time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I make this ALL the time...as soon as I run out I'm back at the store stocking up on supplies to make more. After baking, I add cranberries, golden raisins, coconut, chopped dried apricot...whatever I have. It's just so delicious. I gave away tins of it at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FutureChefShay
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This granola is the absolute best I have ever had!!! I will NEVER buy it from a grocery store again, so easy to make and turns out absolutely delicious. I added in some wheat germ, flax seeds and used a locally produced wildflower honey. I would definitely suggest for people to bake the granola on either a sheet of parchment or in a non-stick oven roaster, that way you'll have no problems and won't have to scrape it off baking sheets!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Love, love, love it! I've been making this recipe for 2 1/2 years. As soon as it's gone, the family is begging for more. I have tried other recipes now and then, but always come back to this one. I double the recipe for the dry stuff and triple the recipe for the wet ingredients. Makes it a little higher in fat, but it bakes up in nice chunks and tastes super! I also add 1/2 cup of wheat germ and 1/2 cup of ground flax seed for nutrition. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Nice and crunchy--like store bought granola cereal. My kids love this in their yogurt. I cut the calories by decreasing the oil to 2 T. (I use olive instead of canola) and adding 1/3 c. applesauce. I also add 1/4 c. wheat germ and cut the cinnamon a bit for my personal preference. I then bake for 20 min. instead of 10 (stirring twice) and add 1 c. mini-chocolate chips after the granola cools a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
A wonderful gift recipe--friends and family received it last Christmas. And I've been making it regularly since. Great for breakfast or out-of-hand afternoon snack. I increase the honey to 2/3 cup and mix it with the oil and vanilla before adding to the oatmeal for more thorough combining of ingredients. If adding fruit (dried cherries, cranberries, or raisins), let them soak in the oil/honey while you chop nuts or combine the dry ingredients. Keeps them chewy even after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
THis recipe was very easy. However, It needed about twice as much honey to get the clumping going on. I also thought the sunflower seeds took the nutty flavor over the top. I made a second batch replacing the sunflower kernals with rice crispies, and doubling the honey. It was perfect then,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
It is very rewarding (and so easy!) to make your own granola! I never buy it premade anymore. I've made this recipe several times and have adjusted it slightly to my preferences. Adding a cup or so of dried cranberries gives it a lot more oomph. Also, walnuts work just as well as pecans. I double the honey and add only a couple of tablespoons of oil, and add extra vanilla. Instead of two baking sheets, it works just as well to throw the whole thing in a big roasting pan, as long as you turn the granola over a few times. It's best to simply monitor the granola in the oven, baking it until it's the right amount of golden for your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States