Honey-Mustard Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I used one very large red bell pepper instead of green, lowfat mayonnaise and chopped garlic dills instead of sweet pickle relish. I wanted to make this an all-in-one salad, so I threw in two drained cans of water packed tuna. I made this last night as I wanted it to sit as long as possible to really get the flavors to come out--I'm glad I did. Nice pasta salad where all the ingredients work together perfectly. Both my husband and I really liked the honey mustard flavor a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandilynn7
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I love making this the healthy way, using whole wheat noodles. I use fat free mayo, skim milk, and don't use the egg yolks. I also up the veggies (and sometimes add diced carrots and/or apples) and up the honey mustard to 1/2 a cup when I make it low-fat, to give it a little extra zing. Using fat free mayo does change the flavor, which is why I up the honey mustard. People don't even know it's low fat when I make it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandilynn7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was very good and a nice change from 'regular' macaroni salad! We really enjoyed the subtle flavor of the honey mustard, and all the flavors blended well together. When I first mixed everything up w/ the dressing, I was a little disappointed that it was so liquidy, but after chilling in the fridge for a few hours, it did become less liquidy, although next time, I will add less milk (personal preference) just because I like macaroni salad a little drier. All in all, this was a great recipe and one that I will make again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
We enjoyed this and so did our company, the leftovers the second day were even better. I eyeballed the veggie additions and more than likely added in more, we like extra veggies. Also only had dill relish, we're not big fans of sweet relish. I added the milk in just until it reached the consistency we like, I only used a 1/2 cup total. Our company loved it, and they are pretty picky. Thanks Brandilynn for a great tasting mac salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
My whole family loved this recipe! Succulent flavor! I used bowtie pasta because I didn't have any elbow pasta on hand. The salad was pretty with it, and because the pasta texture was softer, it worked well. I only put in 1/2 of the milk; do that too, and add more later if you need to, or else you might find the salad too watery. I made my own honey mustard by combining 1/3 mayo, 1/3 honey, and 1/3 brown mustard (like Grey Poupon)--just eyeball it in the 1/3 measuring cup if you are making the full 12 serving recipe. That means you will need to add more mayo because the recipe calls for it as well. My husband said I should have added more peas, but I told him there weren't any in it (we realized that he thought the green pepper was peas--haha). So I added some peas (frozen and thawed) to the leftovers and it was even better! I think salad shrimp would also be a nice addition, and then the salad (maybe with bread) could be a meal on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMTRINA
Home Town: Ripley, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Great twist on classic macaroni! The hint of honey mustard is just right...present but not overpowering. New family picnic favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Delicious - love the extra flavor added by the honey mustard -- I used Dijon and honey. My only recommendation is that you make it at least a few hours in advance to give the onion and bell pepper time to meld flavors. I ate some right after putting it together -- it was very good, and then 5 hours later at the party -- it was even better. Will definitely make again -- maybe add some chicken or ham for a main course?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
The healthier version that another reviewer posted turned out fantastic! The sweet from the relish and the honey mustard makes this version better than all the other macaroni salads I have had. I am keeping this recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Yummy! I just made a double batch of this for a family reunion and it was a HUGE hit. I had people asking what my secret ingredient was (honey mustard puts this macaroni salad above all the rest.) I sent this recipe out to a bunch of family and friends after our reunion. Thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Made this for a Super-Bowl Party. Raves from everyone! It was awesome! The only thing I did different was a half cup of milk instead of a whole cup. I figured I could always add but I couldn't take it back! ;-) Highly recommend this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States