Honey-Mustard Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brandilynn7
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I love making this the healthy way, using whole wheat noodles. I use fat free mayo, skim milk, and don't use the egg yolks. I also up the veggies (and sometimes add diced carrots and/or apples) and up the honey mustard to 1/2 a cup when I make it low-fat, to give it a little extra zing. Using fat free mayo does change the flavor, which is why I up the honey mustard. People don't even know it's low fat when I make it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandilynn7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Great twist on classic macaroni! The hint of honey mustard is just right...present but not overpowering. New family picnic favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was very good and a nice change from 'regular' macaroni salad! We really enjoyed the subtle flavor of the honey mustard, and all the flavors blended well together. When I first mixed everything up w/ the dressing, I was a little disappointed that it was so liquidy, but after chilling in the fridge for a few hours, it did become less liquidy, although next time, I will add less milk (personal preference) just because I like macaroni salad a little drier. All in all, this was a great recipe and one that I will make again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
The sweetness and the tang from the added honey mustard gave this salad an awesome flavor. I made it with light mayo and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Yummy! I just made a double batch of this for a family reunion and it was a HUGE hit. I had people asking what my secret ingredient was (honey mustard puts this macaroni salad above all the rest.) I sent this recipe out to a bunch of family and friends after our reunion. Thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
The healthier version that another reviewer posted turned out fantastic! The sweet from the relish and the honey mustard makes this version better than all the other macaroni salads I have had. I am keeping this recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Thank you for this recipe, even the pickiest eaters in our family loved it. I made a double batch for a family gathering (didn't double the milk) and it was loved by all even those who say they normally don't like homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pametra Briggs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
We enjoyed this and so did our company, the leftovers the second day were even better. I eyeballed the veggie additions and more than likely added in more, we like extra veggies. Also only had dill relish, we're not big fans of sweet relish. I added the milk in just until it reached the consistency we like, I only used a 1/2 cup total. Our company loved it, and they are pretty picky. Thanks Brandilynn for a great tasting mac salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I used one very large red bell pepper instead of green, lowfat mayonnaise and chopped garlic dills instead of sweet pickle relish. I wanted to make this an all-in-one salad, so I threw in two drained cans of water packed tuna. I made this last night as I wanted it to sit as long as possible to really get the flavors to come out--I'm glad I did. Nice pasta salad where all the ingredients work together perfectly. Both my husband and I really liked the honey mustard flavor a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is the best macaroni salad. It is fantastic. I made it as the recipe called, except onion. It seems pretty wet, but by the time the macroni absorbs the mosture it is perfect even several days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States