Honey Mustard Chicken with Pretzel Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
the chicken itself I made as written/no changes. I did make minor changes to the dipping sauce. In the past I have always made my dijoniase type sauces with half mayo and half mustard...so I did the same here....1/2c mayo and 1/2c mustard instead of 3 TB mustard...and I left the salt out of the sauce. Not sure why you need it/plenty of flavor in the mustard sauce and there is more than enough sodium in this recipe just in the pretzle rods used to make the chicken coating. Overall family really liked the flavor, but like some other posters mine did not come out crispy....need to work on that aspect but would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I make this with Gluten Free pretzels and it is wonderful. My husband likes this more than any other crunchy coating I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
my husband is pretzel addicted so this was a good meal to win points with him, yet i thought it was kind of one note - needed a kick of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramel0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
GREAT! served for company tonight and everyone loved it. put chicken on rack placed over a baking pan so that the underside didn't get soggy and was cooked the same as the top. used salted pretzel rods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
We were looking forward to this recipe so much. My kids are pretzel and honey mustard freaks and love any kind of chicken so I was sure this would be a great hit since the flavor combos were spot on for us. However, even after following the recipe to a 'T', this was found to be a tad on the dry side and just didn't have the "crunch" we were expecting. I will be trying it again, maybe with some tweaking we can get it to be a better fit for us. LOVE the concept!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Delish! Anyone who 'knows' me here on AR knows that my brother is one of the pickiest eaters in existence. He ate two chicken breasts and wouldn't stop talking about how good it was, makes it an automatic 10 star recipe in my house! I made it just as stated, except I made a bit less sauce and used 1 tbsp of the spicy mustard in the sauce because I didn't have quite enough of the plain yellow mustard. The first part of the recipe, for dunking the chicken made the perfect amount for me, it was just enough for the four breasts. If you have particularly large breasts (giggle), you might want to make a little more of it, since it was JUST enough. Thanks for the excellent recipe, Kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
made one single breast for my dinner tonight. it was very good...but beware if you use the end of the bag like i did, it will be salty. i wasn't even thinking! duh! thanks for the post kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I basically just used the concept of this recipe. To save time I coated the chicken in bottled honey mustard mixed with a little mayo. Then I rolled in a mixture of ritz crackers, french's french fried onions, and mini pretzels seasoned with garlic powder, lawry's seasoned salt and pepper (pulsed in a food processor until fairly fine). I pounded the chicken thin and baked on a cooling rack on top of a cookie sheet lined with foil. Baked at 375 for about 1/2 hour. Chicken was moist, the breading was crunchy and flavorful and very addictive when dipped in ketchup. I know I really modified the recipe here but it was such a good and quick weeknight dinner I had to rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
OMG! Loved this!!! I'm the only vegetarian in my family so i try to find recipes that work w/ vegetarian "meat"... everyone really liked this one :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
The breading fell off during cooking. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States