Honey Mustard Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Because of my work schedule, I grill marked the brats on my grill the day before, for just a few minutes. I did make the recipe the following day, per directions and it turned out great. I did use more beer than required, but beer can be good. I will absolutly prepare this again, in the fall for Monday night football, so it is ready when I come home from work and the game is about to start. (side note: for all of you bear and packer fans out there, GO VIKINGS!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Made this for dinner at our "Girls Weekend" at the lake. There wasn't any leftovers to snack on the next day. The brats had very good flavor, the peppers and onions were cooked just right. This recipe is a keeper for an anytime meal! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Easy to make. Good flavors. I think I like my brats with sauerkraut too. But will try it again, the boyfriend thoroughly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEHOWIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Sorry! I didn't like. Prefer a brat with sauerkraut or just ketchup and onions. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I thought these turned out really good. What I liked most was how easy it was to make. The addition of the bbq sauce was great. The house did smell good while it was cooking. I also skipped the red bell pepper as I didn't have any and used two green instead. I added more garlic than called for as I do with most dishes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I didn't care for the strong beer taste, but maybe it's just cause I've never had my brats this way. I added more barbeque sauce and let it all sit in the slow cooker for another half an hour and that seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I thought this was tasty, coming from someone who doesn't really like brats. (I think this would be SLAMMIN' with Italian sausage) I followed the recipe as written. I do recommend Dave's famous Georgia Mustard barbeque sauce--delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADGIRRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Excellent bratwurst! I must admit, I was a bit skeptical at first. Brats in the slow cooker???? Boy was I wrong!!! Slow cooking makes them fork tender (and deelicious!). Made half the recipe so that my dad would have something to eat when he came to my house to work on a bathroom remodeling project. Because I didn't know when he'd show up (and I was working all day), I made everything the night before. I pretty much followed the directions to a T except for a couple of minor changes. I followed Linda Mclean's suggestion of grilling/basting the brats prior to slow cooking (I used an indoor grill for this). Instead of half an onion and half each of green and red peppers, I used an entire sweet onion and 2 medium-sized green peppers. Also, in order to completely cover the brats/onions/peppers, I used 2 (12 oz.) bottles of Michelob Amber Bock (the cheapest beer I could find - you don't need anything fancy here, just a dark beer for flavor). Cooked on low for 4 hours, but 5 would have been OK too. My house smelled so good! Since I had left-overs, I brought some to work with me. When warmed up in the microwave, the scent of beer permeated the air (yum!!!). For those who couldn't find honey mustard BBQ sauce, look for Kraft brand (they make it). Overall, this is a great, easy recipe that me and my dad both really enjoyed. I'll have to make this for my bf too. Thanks for sharing : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
These were very tasty, not a brat person myself and I ate 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was a great brat recipe! My geuss is, those who didn't like it are not familiar with brats in general. I've tried them many different ways myself and loved this version! I did take Andi's suggestion and added a diced jalepeño to the slow cooker which added just the right amount of zing. I also toasted the hoagie rolls inside & out on the grill just before serving which added a nice texture. Other than that, cooked to spec using the 4 beers recommended by the original poster in the 1st review (yeah, read them all). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States