Honey Milk Tea - Hong Kong Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I tried this drink and really liked it but way too sweet for me. Instead of using the condensed milk, I used regular whole milk...loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Thanks for the recipe! I haven't had tea like this since I was in Japan, the taste is pretty much exactly the same, and brings back some great memories. I'm not much for sweet drinks so I used whole milk, and added honey, tasted, added, etc. until I was happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Loved this tea. I used a Ceylon black tea instead of the standard Orange pekoe. Very nice way to use some of an opened can of sweetened condensed milk. I most definitely will make this again. Thanks Tao for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I had all the ingredients on hand so I decided to make this. It is very soothing and delicious. It reminds me of the bubble tea I have had at the Mall but minus the bubbles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Perfect for my no-good-very-bad-day. I used fat free sweetened condensed milk but I made no other changes. Using the martini shaker, smart idea! That was the coolest idea. Really. Excellent milk tea. I'd like to try this with fat free half-n-half next time and see if it's just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Thank you so much for posting this! I absolutely love milk tea! It was delicious - I halved the condensed milk and the honey, but I think it was still a tad to sweet. Then again, I always like things a little less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sellzey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Sweet enough, and strong enough that when your ice cubes melt, you'll never notice a change in flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I enjoyed this very much. I remember having it as a child when we were stationed in Guam. My parents had been in stationed in Japan and I remember my mom making this for me. It was lightly sweet and still had a nice little kick flavor of tea. Nicely done Tao. I know can't wait to make this for my kids. I did use decaf tea for that is all I use. And it was wonderful. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Tasted great--my family loved it. I'm not even sure I got the proportions right because I was in such a hurry, but I'll definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Totoro
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This tea makes me so nostalgic! I didn't have ice ready, so I served the tea hot instead. I also substituted condense milk with evaporated milk (condense milk is too sweet), and I used English black tea instead of orange pekoe. Usually recipes call for sugar, so the honey was a great addition. I will definitely make it again. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed it immensely. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totoro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States