Honey Lemon Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Lemon 'tea' is the best thing for a sore throat. It kills bacteria, and soothes the throat. I do not think you should add the extra sugar, though! And its best to roll two lemons, juice them, then stick a slice of the lemon in the water. Very, very good! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Wonderful on a sore throat! I always remember my Mom and Grandmother making this. For some reason, these old home rememdies just seem to work really well - thanks, I'm starting to feel a little better already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Really good! The honey makes it slide down the throat really nicely and counteracts the sour flavor of the lemon. The lemon, on the other hand, adds just the right amount of tang to keep the honey from tasting sickly sweet. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
When ever anyone in my family has a sore throat or the flu, We go straight for the tea with honey. I boil water and steep a tea bag in a mug and add a tablespoon of honey. Does not need sugar. I usually make it without the lemon but the lemon is good also. Honey is very good for you and is very soothing on a sore or irritated throat and tea also has many benefits too. Great anytime! Thanks Cookin*kth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Not exactly tea, but nevertheless it was quite good! I actually had to use about 3 or 4 tsp of lemon juice to make it more flavourful. I liked how I initially tasted only honey, but then a pleasant lemon aftertaste surfaced. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is great hot but i like to make it over ice, especially over the summer. I start out with a coffee mug and put the honey and lemon in with a little bit of hot water to melt it together. Pour over ice and add water the rest of the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
People here recommended me this recipe when my husband had a sore throat. I used 4t honey and skipped the sugar. Great result. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This works great to ease the pain of a sore throat and it tastes great too. My kids hate tea so this is the perfect alternative for them. I used a bit more honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I started drinking this while I had laryngitis and the flu, but this week I'm all better and still craving it. I'm sippin' on some right now, as a matter of fact! All the ingredients can be altered to taste, so do your own thing with this one. I guarantee you can figure out a way to like it. Oh, by the way, my grandma used to make these with a shot of whiskey and call it a Hot Tottie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
good stuff. Doesn't need the extra sugar as the honey is sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States