Honey Grilled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I was looking through my recipe box for a good grilled shrimp recipe for guests this weekend and was delighted to stumble upon this one. I made this last summer for a group and everyone raved. I foolishly had forgotten about it until today...what a mistake! I plan on using our local lowcountry shrimp and serving this all summer long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This had a great starting point, but in reading the recipe I thought it needed a little tinkering. First, the recipe calls for way too much Worcestershire in my view, so I reduced it to 1 T. I substituted fresh minced garlic for the garlic powder, and for a boost of flavor used a full envelope of packaged, dry Italian salad dressing mix rather than the bottled, adding some olive oil to compensate. I didn't bother with the honey marinade as it wasn't necessary, and just brushed some melted butter on the shrimp before serving. This had a mellow but perfectly adequate flavor, that did not overpower the shrimp. I served this on a bed of Rice with Summmer Squash, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Very good. I made half the recipe and had it marinating most of the day. I also marinated pieces of green pepper, onion, grape tomatoes and whole mushrooms. When it came time for dinner, the vegetables were skewered separately from the shrimp. I put these in the oven first while I put the shrimp on their own skewers. (This gave the veggies about 15 minutes more time to cook). Then I basted the shrimp and put them in the oven at 350 for 3 minutes, turned them over and basted them on the other side. I did soak my wooden skewers so they wouldn't burn but I forget to spray them with Pam so the food would slide off easier. Also next time I would remove the shrimp tails and also serve with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
WHOW!!!! this is all i have to say
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Metivier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
THe whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is an awesome recipe. I have never grilled shrimp before. But, we bought a new Weber Q grill and I wanted to try it out before going camping. I followed the recipe exactly but didn't use the wine. I marinated the shrimp most of the day. Put them on skewers, brushed them with honey mix for 2 1/2 minutes. Flipped them and brushed with honey mixture for 2 1/2 more minutes. They were perfect. I also marinated/skewered mushrooms, onions, peppers. They were a little hard, but still great. Needed more time on the grill, I guess. Served red beans and rice as another side. My family loved it. This is a keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
YUM! This was GREAT! I may even try it on chicken!!! soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
The shrimp had good flavor. It wasn't too sweet. Better than average recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was really good! I did make a few modifications though. For the marinade I used only 2 tbsp. of Worcestershire and I added a 1/4 tsp. of Old Bay. I did let them marinate as the recipe says. I then sauteed the shrimp in honey butter (no worchestershire) instead of grilling and saved a little of the honey butter to drizzle over them and dip them in after cooking. This worked out really well. My bf usually doesn't like shrimp and he loved these. Definitely a keeper! Btw, bacon-cheddar mashed potatoes make a great side with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Great shrimp recipe! Even my 2-year old ate it and he didn't like shrimp the last time we had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYLISHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Dix, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States