Honey Glazed Pea Pods and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This is a fabulous recipe; simple and fast! I have made this five times now. Even my hard to please mother in law couldn't complain about it! The best thing to do is steam the vegetables in a steamer basket. Put the carrots in first until they are about 3/4 of the way done, then add the pea pods to the steamer basket. As soon as the pea pods are in, take a small sauce pan and make the glaze. Usually the vegetables are ready right when I get the glaze finished. Then just dump the vegetables into the sauce pan, stir lightly so you don't break apart the pea pods, and Voila! I can't thank you enough for this wonderful recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was great, and beautiful too! I used baby carrots, steamed for about 7-8 minutes, (not boiled), then added the pea pods and only steamed for 45 seconds. This was a perfect amount of time. Then continued with the recipe, leaving out the cornstarch. This went great with garlic salmon and brown/wild rice. My kids (aged 4 and 1) loved this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
A good way to prepare carrots and pea pods. After reading the reviews, I cut the butter back to 1 tbsp, which was plenty. I also added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and a grind of salt and pepper. Great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This recipe is really good. I used the tiny sweet baby carrots so no need to slice or chop. Tossed a few sliced waterchestnuts. Next time I will try a little horseradish with this recipe. Very yummy as is, though. Thanks for another tasty treat Michele.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
I really liked these! I used "tastefully simple" (a product from a taste testing party) honey mustard and WOW was I impressed with the outcome. It was a great along side of a pork roast. Thanks Michele, I'll be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
THis was a great glaze - especially on the carrots. I wasn't crazy about it on the pea pods - but maybe that's just because I prefer carrots. I will keep this recipe and just use carrots next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAmyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I love this recipe, thanks so much for posting it Michele. I made it for the first time as a healthy lunch for myself. 2 carrots and 4 large handfuls of sugar snap peas were perfect. I feel so healthy!! I used enough butter to coat the bottom of the saucepan. I didn't find the honey overpowering (I used 2 tablespoons as per recipe) but added some kick with 1 and 1/2 tsp of garlic powder in with the cornflour. I sprinkled celery salt over the dish just before serving as well. This is a great meal on its own!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
AWESOME!!!!! I used 2 cups of whole baby carrots and a sandwich baggie full of snow peas because that's what I had on hand. It was very easy and tasted wonderful with our grilled meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
A bit on the bland side - but probably good served with a strong-flavored dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Fairly simple but usually the best things are! Ingenious putting the cornstarch in the butter. Makes the "sauce" cling where most others just fall the bottom of the pan. I may use that technique for other recipes. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States