Honey Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
OK folks - hang on for this. I am going to get really detailed in my review. (I noticed when I was reading the reviews that no one really gave finite detail of how they made this) I will say that it is great, and BASTE, BASTE, BASTE. I won't ever pay for a overpriced honeybaked ham again. OK, I had a 8 lb cooked, smoked spiral sliced ham. I halved the glaze and had the perfect amount (but I am a very generous baster). I used (keep in mind I halved it) 1/4 tsp of ground cloves, 1/4 c of brown sugar instead of the corn syrup, 1 cup of honey and I actually did about the same amount of butter as if I made the full amount. Now I also cooked mine in the slow cooker and it ended up a little dry, which was my fault. If you are going to do the slow cooker, give yourself a good 5 hours on low. I panicked with mine about 1/2 way through and upped it to high and it ended up dry. I applied the glaze about every 25 minutes. Make sure you keep the glaze warm and a huge tip! Line that crock pot with foil because the clean up is a bear. Personally, I used the new slow cooker liners and cleanup was a snap becuase you just throw the bag away. Be sure you have a good brush too - the baste is sticky and you will end up with hair all over. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I have never made a ham before and this one was great (also great the next day - my husband and I both liked it on sandwiches).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2817 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Absolutely Awesome! However, I did follow some of the other suggestions and use brown sugar instead of the syrup. I used about 1/3 cup butter, 1/2 C of brown sugar, and about 1/4 honey. You could adjust these however you want easy enough. I cooked this in my crockpot with baby carrots on the bottom on high for the afternoon (Had it on high so I could lift lid and baste). I had the ham scored and cloves in it. The carrots were the best I ever had! The ham was excellant! Sooooo juicy. This my new ham recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this glaze for Easter and my family thought it was a local bought honey ham. My clean up was a breeze. I put my ham in one of those oven cooking bags. Instead of basting it I just poured it over the ham in the bag, sealed it up and just turned the whole bag it self every 15-20 min. I put it in a 9x13 foiled line pan but never got any glaze on it. Worked for me. I didn't use whole cloves but the ground ones. Good luck and enjoy. MMMM Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
955 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
WOW! This is mouth watering delicious!**Line the pan with a LOT of foil** You will have a honey of a mess if you don't.I used brown sugar instead of the corn syrup. Cut the recipe in 1/2 or you will have a ton of glaze. I used a spiral 17 lb. ham & still had glaze eventhough I cut the recipe in 1/2.. Can't go wrong with this recipe. Just use plenty of FOIL!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
577 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
I used a slight variation of this recipe for Easter dinner. It was FANTASTIC!!! I had a 16 1/2 lb ham and used 2 cups of honey, approx 3/4 cups of brown sugar (instead of corn syrup) and 1 cup of butter - no cloves. It was "thick" enough to brush on with a grill brush and wasn't too drippy in the oven. Everyone RAVED!!! (used a CHEAP ham too!) Even the kids and my very picky father loved it!! I am keeping this one in my recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
We made this for Christmas. Very good Turned out great! We put the ham & glaze in an oven bag and just flipped the bag every 15-20min instead of basting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
1/3 cup butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup honey baby carrots underneath , crock pot, lift lid and baste often, stud ham with cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I'm not the biggest ham fan- but it was great! It was a big holiday hit with my whole family. I added the juice from a can of pineapple rings to the sauce and then for the last 10 minutes of baking I garnished the ham with the pineapple rings. Beautiful and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Loved, loved, loved this ham!!!! First time I ever made a ham.(had to ask other shoppers what to buy...shank or butt? Shank won!) Excellent recipe even though I used brown sugar instead of the syrup and omitted the cloves(hate cloves..yuk). Will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This make a great presentation ham, just like the picture. Luckily the baste does make a lot because we could not reuse anything that cooked off because the honey separated under the aluminum foil and the butter remained on top (baked honey is a lot of fun to clean). My husband and I have never made a ham before so we had to do some reasearch to what "score" means. To score a ham means to cut diagonally at 1" intervals, cutting about 1/4" deep. (score in opposite direction to make a diamond shape.) This made a great dinner ham but we didn't care for the flavor when used as leftovers for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 902) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States