Honey Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I've tried this recipe twice now and the family loves it. The second time I took the advice of other reviewers and halfed the recipe for the glaze. There was just enough and after the final basting I turned off the oven and put broiler on hi for the last few seconds. This made the coating brown and a little crispy, yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This was delicious. Used 1/3 c. butter (but that was too much) - use 1/4 c next time. Used 1/4 c agave b/c I didn't have honey. And used 1/2 c brown sugar. Scored and added cloves. Used a 3 lb hatfield classic ham. Cooked on top of carrots in glass baking pan (agave didnt burn like issue with honey). Basted every 15 min, cooked for 1 hr 15 min. Served with Gratin potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a delicious recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving and again at Christmas (by family request). Everyone has asked for my recipe - it is one to keep! I did follow the suggestion to switch out the syrup for brown sugar. The best rendition for me came by accident. I cooked the ham in the oven for an hour, then moved it to a lined crockpot. After driving an hour, I plugged in the crockpot and cooked on high for another hour and a half. My glaze had cooled and become thick like paste. I kept spreading it on as the crockpot cooked and it made the sugary finish that you see on the name-brand ham that you pay $100. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was fantastic! I've never had a Honey Baked from the store so I had no point of reference. But the ham turned out absolutely perfect, my guys positively loved it, and I'm one happy camper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Everyone raved about this ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very good ham! My whole family enjoyed it. I did not use the cloves (didn't have any) but used a little nutmeg instead. Tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubledee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
One word...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was so super easy I added some brown sugar, but we had it for thanksgiving and Christmas! Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Better than the famous honey baked ham at the store. I have some good tips! I used an ordinary Kirkland spiral ham from Costco...about 8 pounds. I think buying a spiral ham is key because all the glaze can get into the slices. I don't score it. I take the cold ham and pull the slices open, one at a time and pour the warm glaze into the meat. I flip it over and do the same to the other side of the slices. Then I put the ham meat side down on the pan and do another pour of the glaze over the whole ham. I bake mine at 275 for 12 to 15 per pound. I find that baking at this lower temperature makes it much more moist! I do baste, but not as often as the recipe calls for-I'm too busy and I don't use a brush -just pour glaze on the ham w/ ladle. When the ham comes out, and as it rests a bit, I take a turkey baster and suck up all the hot ham juices/honey/sugar from the baking pan and start basting all the slices again as it cools!! It sucks up all the yumminess like you wouldn't believe. I carve it up and place the slices on a big plate and for good measure, pour a little bit of the pan juices over the slices. I found that the amount of glaze this recipe makes was enough for an 8 pound ham. I also used brown sugar instead of the corn syrup like the others mentioned. I did't have whole cloves, so I put a tiny pinch of ground cloves in the sauce (but a very small pinch since it's strong). Didn't do double boiler, but kept on stove and heated it only as needed, mostly stove's off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Even with the constant basting, the outside of the ham was too dried out for me. I think I will do it in a cooking bag next time, to keep it moister overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States