Honey Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
OK folks - hang on for this. I am going to get really detailed in my review. (I noticed when I was reading the reviews that no one really gave finite detail of how they made this) I will say that it is great, and BASTE, BASTE, BASTE. I won't ever pay for a overpriced honeybaked ham again. OK, I had a 8 lb cooked, smoked spiral sliced ham. I halved the glaze and had the perfect amount (but I am a very generous baster). I used (keep in mind I halved it) 1/4 tsp of ground cloves, 1/4 c of brown sugar instead of the corn syrup, 1 cup of honey and I actually did about the same amount of butter as if I made the full amount. Now I also cooked mine in the slow cooker and it ended up a little dry, which was my fault. If you are going to do the slow cooker, give yourself a good 5 hours on low. I panicked with mine about 1/2 way through and upped it to high and it ended up dry. I applied the glaze about every 25 minutes. Make sure you keep the glaze warm and a huge tip! Line that crock pot with foil because the clean up is a bear. Personally, I used the new slow cooker liners and cleanup was a snap becuase you just throw the bag away. Be sure you have a good brush too - the baste is sticky and you will end up with hair all over. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I have never made a ham before and this one was great (also great the next day - my husband and I both liked it on sandwiches).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2823 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Absolutely Awesome! However, I did follow some of the other suggestions and use brown sugar instead of the syrup. I used about 1/3 cup butter, 1/2 C of brown sugar, and about 1/4 honey. You could adjust these however you want easy enough. I cooked this in my crockpot with baby carrots on the bottom on high for the afternoon (Had it on high so I could lift lid and baste). I had the ham scored and cloves in it. The carrots were the best I ever had! The ham was excellant! Sooooo juicy. This my new ham recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this glaze for Easter and my family thought it was a local bought honey ham. My clean up was a breeze. I put my ham in one of those oven cooking bags. Instead of basting it I just poured it over the ham in the bag, sealed it up and just turned the whole bag it self every 15-20 min. I put it in a 9x13 foiled line pan but never got any glaze on it. Worked for me. I didn't use whole cloves but the ground ones. Good luck and enjoy. MMMM Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
957 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
WOW! This is mouth watering delicious!**Line the pan with a LOT of foil** You will have a honey of a mess if you don't.I used brown sugar instead of the corn syrup. Cut the recipe in 1/2 or you will have a ton of glaze. I used a spiral 17 lb. ham & still had glaze eventhough I cut the recipe in 1/2.. Can't go wrong with this recipe. Just use plenty of FOIL!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
577 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
I used a slight variation of this recipe for Easter dinner. It was FANTASTIC!!! I had a 16 1/2 lb ham and used 2 cups of honey, approx 3/4 cups of brown sugar (instead of corn syrup) and 1 cup of butter - no cloves. It was "thick" enough to brush on with a grill brush and wasn't too drippy in the oven. Everyone RAVED!!! (used a CHEAP ham too!) Even the kids and my very picky father loved it!! I am keeping this one in my recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
We made this for Christmas. Very good Turned out great! We put the ham & glaze in an oven bag and just flipped the bag every 15-20min instead of basting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
1/3 cup butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup honey baby carrots underneath , crock pot, lift lid and baste often, stud ham with cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I'm not the biggest ham fan- but it was great! It was a big holiday hit with my whole family. I added the juice from a can of pineapple rings to the sauce and then for the last 10 minutes of baking I garnished the ham with the pineapple rings. Beautiful and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Loved, loved, loved this ham!!!! First time I ever made a ham.(had to ask other shoppers what to buy...shank or butt? Shank won!) Excellent recipe even though I used brown sugar instead of the syrup and omitted the cloves(hate cloves..yuk). Will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This make a great presentation ham, just like the picture. Luckily the baste does make a lot because we could not reuse anything that cooked off because the honey separated under the aluminum foil and the butter remained on top (baked honey is a lot of fun to clean). My husband and I have never made a ham before so we had to do some reasearch to what "score" means. To score a ham means to cut diagonally at 1" intervals, cutting about 1/4" deep. (score in opposite direction to make a diamond shape.) This made a great dinner ham but we didn't care for the flavor when used as leftovers for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 902) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States