Honey Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was the first time I glazed and scored a ham, and I learned a few things. First, don't score too deeply. And second, if you put the whole cloves at the intersections of the scoring, most fall out during cooking and basting. I had a 10# bone-in ham that cooked perfectly in about 2-1/2 hours, internal temp of 148, basting every 20 minutes. I would reduce the amount of the glaze next time, as I had a fair amount left over. However, this ham was as good as any that I've ever had, and the sweet glaze did not overpower the flavor of the ham, it only enhanced it.------12.29.13-----One thing you may want to consider when buying your ham is how the sweet glaze will affect your leftovers. I bought a larger ham for leftovers, but this ham has not been great in some of my standard leftover ham recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
AMAZING recipe! Like others, I changed the syrup for brown sugar. I used a 9lbs bone in spiral ham and halved all of the ingredients. Placed the ham in an oven bag and basked every 20 min and it came out D E L I C I O U S! Incredibly moist and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
OMG. Better than Honey Baked!!! I pretty much followed the recipe verbatim except I used a 10lb ham and glazed it every 15 min and still had a buttload of glaze left afterward but it is sooooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I am NEVER going to Honey Baked Hams again. This is sooo much better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Great recipe! Used brown sugar like others and used a cooking bag. Easy, tastes great!!! Will never buy an expensive ham from a retailer again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Excellent taste, was definitely a hit! But way too much glaze left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This turned out awesome!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celena Vincent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Made my first ham using this recipe and everyone loved it. Will be making a ham again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Just Awesome! I would definitely recommend this recipe. I did use brown sugar instead of the syrup. Had an 11 lb. ham so doubled recipe but wouldn't have to do that as had a ton left over. Took to a huge gathering and never heard so many compliments on the ham. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I used this recipe with an oven bag, turning it over every 15-20 minutes. I did put 1&1/2 c. dark brown sugar in bottom of bag then placed ham flat side down & bone up . I used about half of glaze during baking then poured remaining glaze on ham before broiling. I cut the top of the bag off before final glazing & broiling. My family said it was the best ham ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 926) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States