Honey Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Everyone raved about this ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very good ham! My whole family enjoyed it. I did not use the cloves (didn't have any) but used a little nutmeg instead. Tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAKNIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
One word...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was so super easy I added some brown sugar, but we had it for thanksgiving and Christmas! Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Better than the famous honey baked ham at the store. I have some good tips! I used an ordinary Kirkland spiral ham from Costco...about 8 pounds. I think buying a spiral ham is key because all the glaze can get into the slices. I don't score it. I take the cold ham and pull the slices open, one at a time and pour the warm glaze into the meat. I flip it over and do the same to the other side of the slices. Then I put the ham meat side down on the pan and do another pour of the glaze over the whole ham. I bake mine at 275 for 12 to 15 per pound. I find that baking at this lower temperature makes it much more moist! I do baste, but not as often as the recipe calls for-I'm too busy and I don't use a brush -just pour glaze on the ham w/ ladle. When the ham comes out, and as it rests a bit, I take a turkey baster and suck up all the hot ham juices/honey/sugar from the baking pan and start basting all the slices again as it cools!! It sucks up all the yumminess like you wouldn't believe. I carve it up and place the slices on a big plate and for good measure, pour a little bit of the pan juices over the slices. I found that the amount of glaze this recipe makes was enough for an 8 pound ham. I also used brown sugar instead of the corn syrup like the others mentioned. I did't have whole cloves, so I put a tiny pinch of ground cloves in the sauce (but a very small pinch since it's strong). Didn't do double boiler, but kept on stove and heated it only as needed, mostly stove's off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Even with the constant basting, the outside of the ham was too dried out for me. I think I will do it in a cooking bag next time, to keep it moister overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was the first time I glazed and scored a ham, and I learned a few things. First, don't score too deeply. And second, if you put the whole cloves at the intersections of the scoring, most fall out during cooking and basting. I had a 10# bone-in ham that cooked perfectly in about 2-1/2 hours, internal temp of 148, basting every 20 minutes. I would reduce the amount of the glaze next time, as I had a fair amount left over. However, this ham was as good as any that I've ever had, and the sweet glaze did not overpower the flavor of the ham, it only enhanced it.------12.29.13-----One thing you may want to consider when buying your ham is how the sweet glaze will affect your leftovers. I bought a larger ham for leftovers, but this ham has not been great in some of my standard leftover ham recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
AMAZING recipe! Like others, I changed the syrup for brown sugar. I used a 9lbs bone in spiral ham and halved all of the ingredients. Placed the ham in an oven bag and basked every 20 min and it came out D E L I C I O U S! Incredibly moist and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
OMG. Better than Honey Baked!!! I pretty much followed the recipe verbatim except I used a 10lb ham and glazed it every 15 min and still had a buttload of glaze left afterward but it is sooooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I am NEVER going to Honey Baked Hams again. This is sooo much better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 902) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States