Honey Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
We made this recipe for christmas dinner. The ham came out really juicy and flavorful. Honestly it was the best ham I have ever made. I used a fully cooked ham so I didn't have to worry about it getting under cooked. It took a long time to cook because of the basting every 15 minutes but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Loved it! So very good! We truly enjoyed our ham ! Thank You for sharing, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I thought this was good. I tried cooking my 8 lb ham in a bag and turning it with the sauce inside, like other reviewers suggested, but it was a serious pain to flip the bag every 15-20 minutes. Not to mention I was afraid of the bag ripping and/or popping and exploding hot honey sauce all over my oven! The outer layer of my ham tasted good, but the inner wasn't as tender, so maybe next year I'll try it in my roaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Hooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Nom! This was delicious, and easy to prepare (but not hands-off, since you had to baste so often). The ham was so moist and juicy and flavorful! I think next time, I will try to put a brown sugar crust around the ham, the way the Honeybaked store does, because the skin got very dry and tough despite basting. The inner part of the ham is GREAT, though! I also think I will either omit the cloves or use a small amount sprinkled on top next time. The flavor of them was a little strong for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made the recipe "as-is" and it was good. And yes, you have to brush and base this ham pretty much every 15 to 20 mins. I was good. It was moist. I used the ready-eat-ham. At the same time, I made a second ham with a few changes - I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar to the mix and I used a shank ham, yes a cheap cut of meat.This came out spectacular! It was the best of both the hams made. I cooked the ham for the amount of time needed for the weight of the ham and based it every 15 minutes. OH man, it came out moist w/ that lovely flavor. I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
make half of glaze for 5lb ham and use brown sugar in place of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was good but not as good as a Honey Baked Ham. We really liked it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
!!! Here I Am Back Again!!! Christmas,New Years,Easter There Is No Other Ham Glaze. Look No Further Than Right Here!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by izfo
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was incredibly easy to make and delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This glaze definitely delivered! I had bought the honey baked ham before and was hoping to replicate it at home, and this recipe definitely got the job done! I am providing many details about what I did because I had never made a ham before and had to research a bit to figure out what to do to actually put this meal together. We bought a pre-cooked spiral-sliced, bone-in ham (about 7 lbs), and followed the directions on the package (put baby carrots, 1 can of pineapple juice, and the ham face-down in a foil lined roasting pan and baked at 325 degrees, 15 minutes of cooking per pound). I modified the recipe for the glaze as other reviewers have noted and halved it and we still had plenty of glaze- I heated 1 cup honey, 2 tbsp Dark Corn Syrup, 2 tbsp Dark Brown Sugar, 1/3 cup butter, and 1 tsp ground cloves in a saucepan on very low heat (as I didn't have a double-boiler). I then used a silicone baster brush to baste the ham every 15 minutes. After the last basting, I reduced the rest of the glaze by turning the heat up in the saucepan and stirring continuously until it thickened. Then, 5 minutes before I planned to take the ham out of the oven I poured the thickened glaze over the ham and took the lid off of the roasting pan to broil the ham. It came out so delicious, both the ham and the carrots were juicy and flavorful. I will definitely make this easy recipe again! Don't forget to Baste, Baste, Baste! Me and my husband are still eating the delicious leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States